Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Token Ring
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
Location: United States
0 Kudos

W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions

Hi all,

 

Most recently owning a T61p, I am looking for a solid workstation replacement, and the W520 seems like it.  Last year, I remember seeing a model W701, but those seem to be gone.

 

The W520 seems to be able to do what I want to do, but I have several questions:

 

  1. Didn't there used to be an option to get 2 SSDs in a RAID 0 configuration?  Is that available now?
  2. I'd like a Blu-Ray player / DVD recorder if possible.  Possible?
  3. I will be adding the docking station because I want to run 3, yes 3 22" or 24" DVI LEDs.  On my old T61p with the dock, I accomplished this with a DVI connection to LED 1 while LED 2 and LED 3 ran off individual DVI-2-USB adapters I had (and still have).  Will that continue to work?

 

Thanks!

 

Chris

Posts: 20,902
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions

Not sure about the RAID question.

Blu-Ray player can be bought aftermarket, those one that goes into the W700/701 will work in the W520.

The 3 native external screen support is possible if you use no internal LCD.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions

Great.  Why did they get rid of the W7xx series?

Highlighted
Posts: 20,902
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,259
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions

[ Edited ]

Not enough sale volume. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
802.11n
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions


worldbuilder wrote:
  1. Didn't there used to be an option to get 2 SSDs in a RAID 0 configuration?  Is that available now

You need to order the Raid0 model with 2 HHDs and then replace the HDDs with SSDs.

 

(I put the HDDs in caddys and use them for backups)

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Token Ring
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions

Hi Huberth,

 

I don't see that option on their website.  Perhaps if I speak with a sales person they can accomplish this?

 

Also...  Based on the LCD setup I mentioned in my OP...  Given that the 15.6" screen is only capable of 1920x1080, would I be able to run the 3 attached LCDs at 1920x1200 if that's what they were capable of?

 

1920x1080 is OK, but I'd prefer higher resolution.

 

Thanks!

 

Chris

802.11n
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: W Series - Need A Beast, Have Questions


worldbuilder wrote:

Hi Huberth,

 

I don't see that option on their website.  Perhaps if I speak with a sales person they can accomplish this?

 

Also...  Based on the LCD setup I mentioned in my OP...  Given that the 15.6" screen is only capable of 1920x1080, would I be able to run the 3 attached LCDs at 1920x1200 if that's what they were capable of?

 

1920x1080 is OK, but I'd prefer higher resolution.

 

-----------------

 

When I ordered mine, the option was there.

 

I do use a 1920x1200 monitor with my W520.

I have not tried multiple 1920x1200 monitord, but I don't see why it shoudl not work.

 

The W520 with SATA III SSDs is definitely a beast! 


 

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674