cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
jackburdick
Paper Tape
Views: 16,751
Message 1 of 19

2017 x1 yoga with Thunderbolt 3 and egpu (razer core) for cuda deep learning?

Hello,

I'm interested in buying the new x1 yoga when it becomes available.  

I'm a graduate student and my focus is in deep learning.  I'm aware that there are other options available (NVIDIA built in), but I am interested in the portability of the X1.  I'm also aware that transfer speeds can be a problem when using an eGPU but it's my understanding thunderbolt3 could be "fast enough" for this application.

Would I be able to do cuda programming with the x1 and an eGPU like the razer core + titan x though the thunderbolt 3 port?

Thanks!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 16,676
Message 2 of 19

Re: 2017 x1 yoga with Thunderbolt 3 and egpu (razer core) for cuda deep learning?

I don't think anyone can give you a definitive answer.  You are asking about compatibility with a programming environment that stresses parallel processing and attaching a relatively new GPU processor.  I did a quick review of the new X1 Yoga and everything I tested worked fine with no issues.  I am sure nVIDIA got samples of Kaby Lake machines and they would normally test their products (like Razer Core Titan X) with new chipset drivers, but unless some tested that particular combination of hardware and software there is no way to be sure that it would work "out of the box".

Rich

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
jackburdick
Paper Tape
Views: 16,544
Message 3 of 19

Re: 2017 x1 yoga with Thunderbolt 3 and egpu (razer core) for cuda deep learning?