English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

1 Posts

03-27-2012

7 Signins

24 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-27-2012
  • Location:
  • Views: 24
  • Message 1 of 3

3G without Active Connections?

2012-03-27, 10:25 AM

Hi,

 

Is it possible to use the the 3G without using Access Connections?

 

-Bedullah

Reply
Options

288 Posts

11-28-2007

US

412 Signins

9231 Page Views

  • Posts: 288
  • Registered: ‎11-28-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9231
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: 3G without Active Connections?

2012-03-29, 14:04 PM

Under XP, no, unless your carrier has an application that supports the card you have installed.

 

Under Win7, absolutely.  Win7 supports WAN connections natively. You might need to run Lenovo Mobile Broadband activator to activate the card (under ThinkVantage Tools as 3G Mobile Broadband, or downloadable here: http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/downloads/detail.page?DocID=DS001273) but after that when you click on the wireless icon in system tray, you will have an option to connect to your WWAN network above the available WLAN networks.

Reply
Options

4924 Posts

04-25-2008

US

39442 Signins

743388 Page Views

  • Posts: 4924
  • Registered: ‎04-25-2008
  • Location: US
  • Views: 743388
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: 3G without Active Connections?

2012-04-02, 14:13 PM

Hi Bedullah,

 

You can also use your 3G providers network connection software, or a Windows dial-up networking configuration.

 

Here are AT&T's 3G dial-up connection instructions for Windows XP and Windows 7. Substitute your 3G carrier's parameters.

 

Hope this helps!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Using Browser Search To Find Answers in the Lenovo and Moto Communities.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete