Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Active Protection Error

[ Edited ]
Hi,

   I have an X60 Thinkpad and when I rebooted, I got the following error, "Active protection is not functioning as system detected the abnormal sensor status.  To diagnose the sensor device, run PC DOCTOR DOS - HDD Active Protection Test and if it still shows, contact Help and Service for repair."   The only problem is, my laptop only came installed with PC Doctor 5 for Windows and when I run it, I can't find any way to test the Active Protection System.  Help!

 
Note from Moderator: Please update your profile with your correct country location as per the forum rules. Products, options and services vary from market to market. Knowing your location helps us help you.


Message Edited by andyP on 06-13-2008 08:45 AM
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: china
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

I have the same problem,help me!
Highlighted
What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: china
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

I an eager  lenovo to help me about this problem.help help 

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

I solved this problem shortly after I posted my original message but I can't remember for sure exactly what I did. 

 

I think Lenovo had me install all Microsoft Windows updates for my operating system (Windows XP) and then restart the system.  I think when I did that it solved the problem.

What's DOS?
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-26-2008
Location: china
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

oh?that problem has been solved?

how you get the solution a? by call the lenovo's free call ? or use system update by youself?

thank you! 

Fanfold Paper
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Location: USA
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

[ Edited ]
If I remember correctly, I called Lenovo and they told me the first thing to do was to make sure I had installed all the updates for my operating system.   I installed the updates through the Microsoft Windows Updater on the Microsoft website.  After installing them I rebooted, and the problem went away.
Message Edited by rfast10430 on 10-27-2008 10:56 AM
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-19-2008
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Active Protection Error

[ Edited ]
I just had this on an R61 running Vista.  Installing the latest updates & rebooting has apparently fixed the problem.
Message Edited by locus on 12-10-2008 04:42 PM