cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Technobob
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-17-2015
Location: United States
Views: 10,576
Message 1 of 12

Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

With input from this forum, I went ahead and ordered an X250.  ETA first week of April.  Thank you... (ask me in May if I am still as grateful  Smiley Tongue )

 

My plan is to also purchase an Ultra dock and use the screen on the notebook as well as two external displays.  I did some research and understand certain video ports take priority over others, but this should no be an issue.

 

After reading another thread (here) I am concerned this setup may not be as reliable as one would hope.  I realize the thread references an X240 (not an X250), but would like to know if others have a 3 display setup with the X250 and if they enountered any issues?

 

Thanks again.  This group has provided a wealth of information that has essentially kept me in the Lenovo camp.  I currently use a W520 and was pretty close to moving another manufacturer altogether.

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,499
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 10,566
Message 2 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

Hi Technobob,

 

I'm using a ThinkPad X240 daily on a ThankPad Ultra Dock with two 1920x1080 DisplayPort monitors simultaneously with the X240 LCD. Also have an X250 which occasionally gets plugged in to the same dock and all three monitors work, no issues.

 

Hope this helps!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Technobob
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-17-2015
Location: United States
Views: 10,556
Message 3 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

Thanks bananaman - I will take that as a positive endorsement. Now we wait... :-)
thinkthet
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-16-2015
Location: Austin, Texas
Views: 10,547
Message 4 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

I am using my X250 through an Ultra dock driving two 1080p monitors via the displayport outputs. The external monitor screens dim and flicker for a couple of moments at bootup. However, these issues don't persist past 1 minute after bootup.

 

Other than this minor annoyance, this setup work flawlessly.

Dan_Oracle
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-24-2015
Location: Chicago
Views: 10,494
Message 5 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

I have an x240 and doc in a Ultra Doc 90W.  I have two ViewSonic monitors connected to the dock (1 via VGA port, 1 via DVI port).  I would like to add a third monitor.  When I connect to the VGA port on the x240, the third screen does not work.  How have you connected your third monitor?

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,499
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 10,488
Message 6 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

I'm using DisplayPort with two DisplayPort to HDMI cables from the dock. The third display is the X240 LCD.
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 10,480
Message 7 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

Dan_Oracle
Paper Tape
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-24-2015
Location: Chicago
Views: 10,479
Message 8 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

Great, thank you for the reply.  I will go out and get a displayport cable tonight and try to connect it.  I hoping that the issue is that the VGA port cannot be used on the laptop while docked.  

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 10,470
Message 9 of 12

Re: Any Issues with X250 and Using 3 Monitors?

you are welcome..
Best regards ....
Nubzeer
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-25-2016
Location: US
Views: 7,883
Message 10 of 12

Re: Issues with X250 display driver while using on dock with displayport

Dear All,

 

I am using X250 with Docking station (PN 40A20090UK). when i connect monitor (HP LV2011) on the displayport of the dock the display on the monitor is flashing like coming and going. i try to connect other monitors (other than the LV2011) it works fine on the same displayport interface. If i remove the intel display diriver (intel HD Graphics 5500) it is displaying normal on the monitor however as you know without dirver the resolution will be very low.

 

look forward your comments.

 

thanks and best regards,

Nubzeer Chakkuunen

 

 

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors