Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
Message 1 of 6 (487 Views)

Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

Please help,

My hard drive in my x61s died and I can find my backup media. I took a hard drive from a spare Gateway laptop (running vistsa) and installed it in my x61s. I set windows to the original factory instalation setting, while it was in my lenovo. It boots up fine, but now my computer thinks its a Gateway! Do I have to cnange the Bios so it boots as a Lenovo, or what? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Btw, there isn't an optical drive in the X61s.

Thanks a million!

 

John 

Posts: 3,513
Topics: 27
Solutions: 276
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
Message 2 of 6 (474 Views)

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

johnf93,

 

I'm surprised that it booted up at all seeing as how the hardware is so different.  It sounds like when you set it to factory settings, the os used the factory settings for the Gateway.  It's not going to boot up as a Lenovo unless you used the Lenovo restore discs.  You have an os in there that was installed in a Gateway.  So, you got Gateway stuff.  

 

That's okay, but  you're probably going to have to re-activate Vista soon.  I would probably just go through the hardware and get rid of the Gateway stuff.  Then download and install Thinkvantage System Update and update your drivers.  

 

In control panel, do you have any devices that aren't installed or have yellow tags on them?  System update should find them and give you drivers for them.

 

Again, I'm real surprised it booted up at all. Oh yeh, the bios doesn't have anything to do with it.

 

Dave



English Community   Deutsche Community   Comunidad en Español   Русскоязычное Сообщество

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please click the "Accept As Solution" button.

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 3 of 6 (451 Views)

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

I'd definitely go and reinstall the OS on it. (Preferably XP or 7, and not Vista Smiley Tongue)
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
Message 4 of 6 (407 Views)

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

Thanks for the info!

Just curious, Is there anyway to have it boot up as a Lenovo, without using the restore disks? Thanks again for the quick responses.

John
Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 5 of 6 (401 Views)

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

You could try to uninstall all of the Gateway related tools, then run ThinkVantage System Update on it.

There may be some minor cosmetic alterations Gateway made to the stock OS to make it "Gateway", but shouldn't pose an issue.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
Message 6 of 6 (395 Views)

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

THANKS!!!
top kudoed authors