Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team

Community Spotlight

Visit the Community Blog

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Highlighted
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

Please help,

My hard drive in my x61s died and I can find my backup media. I took a hard drive from a spare Gateway laptop (running vistsa) and installed it in my x61s. I set windows to the original factory instalation setting, while it was in my lenovo. It boots up fine, but now my computer thinks its a Gateway! Do I have to cnange the Bios so it boots as a Lenovo, or what? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Btw, there isn't an optical drive in the X61s.

Thanks a million!

 

John 

Posts: 3,364
Topics: 26
Kudos: 413
Solutions: 259
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0 Kudos

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

johnf93,

 

I'm surprised that it booted up at all seeing as how the hardware is so different.  It sounds like when you set it to factory settings, the os used the factory settings for the Gateway.  It's not going to boot up as a Lenovo unless you used the Lenovo restore discs.  You have an os in there that was installed in a Gateway.  So, you got Gateway stuff.  

 

That's okay, but  you're probably going to have to re-activate Vista soon.  I would probably just go through the hardware and get rid of the Gateway stuff.  Then download and install Thinkvantage System Update and update your drivers.  

 

In control panel, do you have any devices that aren't installed or have yellow tags on them?  System update should find them and give you drivers for them.

 

Again, I'm real surprised it booted up at all. Oh yeh, the bios doesn't have anything to do with it.

 

Dave

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x301, x200T, x61T, x61, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch, Yoga Tab 2 Windows 8.1, Yoga Tablet 3 Pro
Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Guru
Posts: 8,730
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

I'd definitely go and reinstall the OS on it. (Preferably XP or 7, and not Vista Smiley Tongue)
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
0 Kudos

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

Thanks for the info!

Just curious, Is there anyway to have it boot up as a Lenovo, without using the restore disks? Thanks again for the quick responses.

John
Guru
Posts: 8,730
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

You could try to uninstall all of the Gateway related tools, then run ThinkVantage System Update on it.

There may be some minor cosmetic alterations Gateway made to the stock OS to make it "Gateway", but shouldn't pose an issue.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Punch Card
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-20-2010
Location: MA
0 Kudos

Re: Bios changed? Lenovo thinks its a Gateway!

THANKS!!!