Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

200 Posts

06-13-2008

SE USA

437 Signins

2394 Page Views

  • Posts: 200
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: SE USA
  • Views: 2394
  • Message 1 of 8

Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-17, 14:36 PM

 

I'm having trouble finding the specifications on the hard drive that is used in the Thinkpad X100e.

Is it a 2.5" SATA II or ... something else?

I've got some part numbers (60Y4795 60Y4793 ) but can not find a cross-ref. that describes them.

I'm thinking of buying one of these, but for my intended purpose, a solid-state drive is going to be needed (I'm going to be carrying it with on motorcycle tours including some off-road travels).

I considered the S12 series, but understand the hard drive in those machines is not removable.

On the order configuration pages, some of the other Thinkpads offer the SSD as an option, but alas, not the X100e.

Any other suggestions appreciated, I kinda honed in on the X100e due to small form-factor, reasonable cost (in case it gets broken or swiped), battery life, and performance but am open to other options!

Thanks!

 

Reply
Options

159 Posts

02-07-2009

Portland, OR

433 Signins

1763 Page Views

  • Posts: 159
  • Registered: ‎02-07-2009
  • Location: Portland, OR
  • Views: 1763
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-25, 3:32 AM

Looking at the configuration, x100e lists 320GB hdd. I don't think the 1.8" comes up to that high capacity. So it would be safe to think it uses regular size 2.5" SATA HDD. So yes, you can upgrade to any 2.5" SATA SSD.

Reply
Options

200 Posts

06-13-2008

SE USA

437 Signins

2394 Page Views

  • Posts: 200
  • Registered: ‎06-13-2008
  • Location: SE USA
  • Views: 2394
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-25, 12:00 PM

 

Hmmmmmmm I had not thought about that, I think you are right, it is very likely a 2.5" drive.

I have heard that in some lower end netbooks that the HD is soldered down to the motherboard.

I would NOT expect that to be the case here....

 

Reply
Options

4 Posts

04-20-2010

USA

10 Signins

137 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎04-20-2010
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 137
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-25, 13:29 PM

Hi jwooden,

I found a blog that explanations of x100e hdd to Intel SSD exchange. But problem is writen in Japanese.

But there are many of pics you can see.

 

Just F.Y.I

http://thinkpadblog.blog96.fc2.com/blog-entry-1126.html

Reply
Options

4096 Posts

01-05-2008

Germany

22193 Signins

317435 Page Views

  • Posts: 4096
  • Registered: ‎01-05-2008
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 317435
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-25, 13:53 PM

Hello @all,

 

here´s a good site, with documentation and video material, how to upgrade your system parts.

 

http://www.lenovoservicetraining.com/ion/

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using Lenovo Yoga C930, ThinkPad X1 Carbon 5th Gen. Silver Edition, ThinkPad 13, Yoga 900, ThinkPad T460s, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Reply
Options

6 Posts

04-03-2010

Germany

11 Signins

47 Page Views

  • Posts: 6
  • Registered: ‎04-03-2010
  • Location: Germany
  • Views: 47
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-25, 14:29 PM
I'm using a Super Talent Ultradrive GX2 128GB in my X100e without problems. I think every 2.5 inch SATA SSD should work.
Reply
Options

4272 Posts

12-02-2007

United States of America

9151 Signins

198453 Page Views

  • Posts: 4272
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 198453
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-26, 5:41 AM

Hello,

 

My ThinkPad X100e (3508-CTO) came with a 160GB 5400 RPM Hitachi 2.5" SATA hard disk drive installed in it.  The Lenovo FRU label obscures the exact model, but the Hitachi P/N number on it is 0A70371.  I did not find this model on Hitachi's web site, but a very close P/N exists, 0A70381, which is for a Hitachi TravelStar 5K500.B series hard disk drive, model HTS545016B9SA00.

 

I initially replaced the hard disk drive in my ThinkPad X100e with a 64GB Kingston SSDNow V Series SATA SSD, P/N SNV425-S2/64GB.  Later, I replaced that with a faster 64GB Crucial SATA-II SSD, P/N CT64M225.SAB2.

 

Based on my experience, I would suspect that any 9.5mm high 2.5" SATA SSD will work fine in the X100e.  Keep in mind, though, that SSDs store data and are formatted differently than most conventional rotating media hard disk drives, so if you are planning on using Microsoft Windows XP (or earleir) with your X100e then you will need to take some additional steps while formatting the SSD to get the best performance out of it.  The installers for Windows Vista and Windows 7 recognize SSDs, though, so you should have to perform no additional steps before installing those operating systems.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)P51sP72 (20MB-*)P43sS230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)X1e gen3X1 Yoga gen 5X12 gen1X13 gen1Yoga 370

Communities: English Deutsche Español Português Русскоязычное Česká Slovenská Українська Język Polski Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

17 Posts

04-26-2010

Italy

8 Signins

226 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎04-26-2010
  • Location: Italy
  • Views: 226
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: Can an SSD be installed in the X100e?

2010-04-26, 11:09 AM

I agree with  zedd.

Basically, every 2.5" SSD should work.

The problem is that fast SSD drives are still quite expensive!

:smileywink:

There are only two tragedies in life: one is not getting what one wants, and the other is getting it.
(O. Wilde)
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms