Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Cant download some (not all) exe files

I have just bought new the X200 (4286) and I have come across 2 links that I cant download the installation exe file:

http://dl4.htc.com/managed-assets/support/software/htc-sync/setup_3.0.5617.exe (HTC Sync to phone exe download)

http://mitsweb.iitech.dk/downloads/live/installations/Thales/en/ThalesTrader2_webdeploy.exe (Thalestrader stock trading software) 

 

I get the "unable to connect" message. I tried firefox & Internet Explorer and tried downloading with firewall turned off, antivirus turned off (Norton) and internet options set to lowest security setting (allow all). NO SUCCESS!

 

The links work fine on my T42 and T61p (yes I have 3 laptops now) Im not sure if the problem is with a windows 7 setting or a Thinkpad setting. Because its new just out of the box Im assuming nothing is corrupted. Can anyone suggest what I could do (other than download them on my other laptops and transfer to this one)?

Guru
Posts: 8,986
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Cant download some (not all) exe files

Is the Application Experience service disabled? I have trouble interacting with EXE files sometimes if it is.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-27-2009
Location: Australia
0 Kudos

Re: Cant download some (not all) exe files

The Application Experience is set as running. All processes are as default. I havent disabled anything.

Guru
Posts: 8,986
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Cant download some (not all) exe files

How exactly does the download fail?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen