Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Gardener21
Paper Tape
Views: 89,240
Message 1 of 9

F1 and F12 don't function at boot time

I am an new user of a Lenovo X1 carbon.  Unit has 8G ram and 256G SSD with Window 8 64bit install.

I have found the traditional F1 (bios setup) F12 (boot menu) to not function at bootup time.

From within the windows 8 environment I have found a menu from PC settings (charm thingy menu) that allows me to restart and enables me to press Enter key for a menu that gives access to F1, recovery etc, F12.

I have disabled secure boot and such.

Is there another way to enable access these function at boot time rather that having to boot the Window OS.

UEFI BIOS G6ET66WW (2.10)  2012-11-20

embedded controller G6HT20WW

Yep I am new to the Lenovo X1 carbon world. 

Any help greatly appreciated.

SMG47
802.11n
Views: 89,222
Message 2 of 9

Re: F1 and F12 don't function at boot time

Try the "Enter" key at bootup.
Gardener21
Paper Tape
Views: 89,204
Message 3 of 9

In reading similar posts was able to try and test the following:

There is some relationship between the functionality of the F1....F12 on this system and the state of the "enable rapid start technology"  from the power menu.

On this Windown 8 64 bit system....................

This little gem is under the section about "define what happens when you press the power button.  You need to click the enable the disable function of this screen by clicking the shield at the top.  Then scroll down to the botton and uncheck "enable rapid start technology".  After you have done this you will be able to hit the "enter key" at bootup and interact with another menu that allows selection of setup, boot menu, etc.

I have enable and disable this power setting (in the OS) and find it correlates with the functionality of the "enter key" options at boot time.   Interestingly I have found that disabling the function in the "BIOS" had no effect on this problem.