English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

9 Posts

03-21-2012

Argentina

9 Signins

64 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2012
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 64
  • Message 1 of 7

Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-09-05, 15:28 PM

I created the factory recovery disks for a x220. The process resulted in four DVD disks but when I boot with the first one it asks for the final disk and no disk is recognized as the final one.

 

Do you know what I am doing wrong?

 

Thanks,

Reply
Options

9380 Posts

11-27-2007

SK

15518 Signins

2040239 Page Views

  • Posts: 9380
  • Registered: ‎11-27-2007
  • Location: SK
  • Views: 2040239
  • Message 2 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-09-05, 15:48 PM

Are you selecting to restore to factory as opposed to restore to an image?  Choosing the latter will require the last disc after the boot disc, the former will ask for disc two.

 

Depending on the R&R version please check to see if there is an option on the first screen for "advanced", or similar, in the left pane at the bottom, (may require scrolling), and select this first.

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Reply
Options

9 Posts

03-21-2012

Argentina

9 Signins

64 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2012
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 64
  • Message 3 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-09-05, 17:43 PM

I can't see those options with the DVD set only and a new hard drive. If I try to follow your workflow with the original hard drive installed it gives me the options and a Windows operating system is recognized but this is not what I want to do:

 

I have a new blank hard drive and want to install the factory operating systems with it. I don't have any option to proceed in this case.

 

Do you know how I can do it?

 

Thanks,

 

Reply
Options

13 Posts

11-17-2012

USA

10 Signins

109 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 109
  • Message 4 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-10-18, 2:17 AM

Hello,


I am having the exact same issue with my T430s! My original hard drive is dying so I got a new one. I boot with the first DVD (the "boot media") and it only goes to the system image option, and doesn't recognize any of the three data DVDs! How can I access R&R to restore to factory settings? wslh, did you ever figure this out?

Reply
Options

9 Posts

03-21-2012

Argentina

9 Signins

64 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2012
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 64
  • Message 5 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-10-18, 2:20 AM

I called Lenovo and they sent me the dvds by mail. that was the only solution.

Reply
Options

13 Posts

11-17-2012

USA

10 Signins

109 Page Views

  • Posts: 13
  • Registered: ‎11-17-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 109
  • Message 6 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-10-18, 2:23 AM

Did they charge you? My warranty has expired...

Reply
Options

9 Posts

03-21-2012

Argentina

9 Signins

64 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎03-21-2012
  • Location: Argentina
  • Views: 64
  • Message 7 of 7

Re: Factory recovery disks don't work, how to solve this issue?

2013-10-18, 2:26 AM

They didn't charge me, probably because I was covered by the warranty but the best thing is to call them.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete