Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
stuNZ
What's DOS?
Views: 1,172
Message 1 of 7

Failed X230 SSD, and no support!

I've been on the phone to Lenovo support for the last 6 weeks, they have been absolutely unhelpful, and I don't know where to turn!

My brand new (1 month old) X230 decided to BSOD, and I couldn't boot (even in safe mode). I'm not a big techie, so after trying to boot from a USB and not getting that to work I rang support. That was at the end of October. Since then i've been told twice that a box has been sent to return the computer in (10 days apart after ringing to find out when the box was coming), then told they didn't send due to "an error in our system" (again, after I rung), then i was told that a technician would come to look at my machine, then after hearing nothing for another week, I was told that customer support would contact me to find a solution, and now i've been calling every 3-4 days, everytime told that customer support would contact me or someone would "personally take care of this issue". 

I haven't had a single piece of correspondence from a Lenovo employee in all this time. I'm ridiculously frustrated! the most expensive thing I've ever owned and its worthless after a month and the support staff are absolutely taking the piss. I spend my evenings on hold at the support centre!

I took the PC into a local shop ($100 later), and they think its a failed SSD which is the problem.

What should i do? I have no faith in Lenovo support, and I feel like I've been straight up ripped off. Am i going to have to give them more money to order another SSD? 

Has anyone else had a similar experience with support?

Thanks for reading!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 1,158
Message 2 of 7

Re: Failed X230 SSD, and no support!

stuNZ,

1. can you access to bios setup (in case you have win 7)? If yes, disable Secure boot and try to boot from usb stick