Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3871 Posts

12-13-2016

United States of America

5747 Signins

66391 Page Views

• Views: 66391
  • Message 1 of 11

First Look: ThinkPad X13 Yoga Gen 2

2021-04-10, 21:09 PM

First, a couple of things to get out of the way:

1. I don’t work for Lenovo. Or anybody, for that matter :). 

2. I’m not a professional reviewer. I’m simply a guy who spends a lot of time on computers, be it writing, working on audio or video files, doing my taxes (ugh) or surfing the web. At one time or another, I’ve likely owned a computer from every maker not named Apple. I’m probably more like you than any reviewer; I like for a computer to do what it’s supposed to do, reliably and dependably.

With that out of the way, let’s have a look at what’s new. The X13 Yoga Gen 2 has a lot of what I call “duh” features. A “duh” feature is one that’s so obviously good, you wonder why nobody thought of it before. For example, embedding the fingerprint reader into the power button. Duh. Coming up with a finish that is resistant to fingerprints and similar smudges. Duh. A computer that can lock itself when you walk away, then recognize you and unlock itself when you sit back down. Duh. There are a lot more of those bells and whistles I plan to test in this article as well as the usual nuts and bolts that have always made ThinkPads the best in the business. Pun intended.

Speaking of nuts and bolts, let’s have a look at what’s available on the Gen 2. First of all, it's a Yoga, so it has a 360-degree hinge that allows you to use the computer in standard laptop, tablet and tent modes. The body is black carbon fiber. It has a magnesium chassis.

This is straight from Lenovo’s own PDF on the X13 Yoga Gen 2:

MEMORY Up to 32GB LPDDR4 (4266Mhz)

WEIGHT Starting at 1.2kg/2.65lbs

STORAGE Up to 2TB PCIe SSD