English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

03-17-2015

London

9 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2015
  • Location: London
  • Views: 49
  • Message 1 of 5

Hard drive space appears lost after deleting a partition

2015-03-17, 9:50 AM

I have just deleted a partion on the hard drive of my Thinkpad X230. I followed the instructions by deleting the volume I didn't need (which was volume D).

 

However, free space that was in D has not been added to the the existing volume (Volume C) as this has not increased in size. Have I made a terrible mistake and lost the space for ever?

 

It is not the original hard drive that came with the laptop - I had a solid state drive installed.

 

Can anyone help?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

12654 Posts

06-06-2011

RU

17736 Signins

175380 Page Views

  • Posts: 12654
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2011
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 175380
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Hard drive space appears lost after deleting a partition

2015-03-17, 13:48 PM
Hi

How have you deleted the volume exactly? Did you use Windows Disk Manager app or the tool diskpart.exe or what?

Anyway, open the tool you need - diskmgmt.msc, delete the volume and expand existing volume. Follow application help if you need.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #Retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Browser Search to find the answers in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Использование поисковых сервисов Интернет, чтобы найти ответы на форуме Lenovo & Moto

Reply
Options

3 Posts

03-17-2015

London

9 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2015
  • Location: London
  • Views: 49
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Hard drive space appears lost after deleting a partition

2015-03-17, 13:55 PM

I used the windows disk manager. I can not see how to expand the existing volume.

Reply
Options

12654 Posts

06-06-2011

RU

17736 Signins

175380 Page Views

  • Posts: 12654
  • Registered: ‎06-06-2011
  • Location: RU
  • Views: 175380
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Hard drive space appears lost after deleting a partition

2015-03-17, 14:38 PM

If the volume has been removed you should see "unallocated" status of that. Look at the picture below (sorry, it's simpler for me to provide you the picture as I don't have the win with GUI in English):
http://www.nextofwindows.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/08/disk_management_extend_volume.png

Also, you'll see there the menu item I mentioned above. Just right click on the C: volume.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #Retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Browser Search to find the answers in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Использование поисковых сервисов Интернет, чтобы найти ответы на форуме Lenovo & Moto

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

03-17-2015

London

9 Signins

49 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎03-17-2015
  • Location: London
  • Views: 49
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Hard drive space appears lost after deleting a partition

2015-03-25, 9:03 AM

thanks for your help. I've done it now.

 

There are two actions required before you can extend the main volume. First to delete the partion, second to delete the volume. The problem with the second action is that the warning message you get prior to deleting the volume is scary - it says the volume will become inaccessible, which made me think the space on the volume would be deleted and I would have no access to that space at all.

 

I found the help function pretty useless - I searched for 'delete partion' under topics and no results were returned.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete