01-19-2016

Canada

3 Signins

37 Page Views

• Views: 37
  • Message 1 of 4

How to Troubleshoot X1 Carbon Speaker and Headphone Audio Issues

2016-01-19, 20:18 PM

Please note: I am not a computer expert; I just stumbled upon the solution after numerous repair attempts and playing around with my system. 

Operating System: Windows 10

Lenovo X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (20BS) 

Purchased 12/2015

The following solution may help those who are experiencing:

• No audio output from either the speakers and/or headphone port
  • Audio output inconsistencies after connecting/disconnecting headphones

Step 1: Lenovo Solution Centre

1. Check the Lenovo Solution Centre (installed on your computer) for any software updates. 
  2. Run the hardware scan to see if there are any hardware issues. Note any detected deficiencies and call Lenovo to get it repaired. 

Step 2: Speaker Hardware Test

Make sure your audio is enabled and your volume is turned up. 

1. Access the "Realtek HD Audio Manager" (simply search for it using Cortana). If you do not have the Realtek HD Audio Manager, skip to Step 4: Re-install audio driver. 
  2. In the Speaker/HP tab > Speaker Configuration, press the blue "play" button. You should hear audio coming out from the left, then right speakers. 
  3. If there is no sound, you may have a hardware problem and need to send your laptop for repair. You may need to replace your system board and audio/USB sub card. 

Step 3: Driver Test for Speakers and Headphone Port

If sound comes out from your speakers in step 2, but no audio is played when you're playing a media file, then you probably have a driver problem. 

1. In the Realtek HD Audio Manager Speaker/HP tab on the right side, click the "Set Default Device" button. At this point, you should not be able to press that button anymore. 
  2. Click the "Device advanced settings" on the top right corner and select "Classic mode."
  3. Your speakers and headphones should now work when you play a media file.