cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
agomez
Not applicable
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2014
Location: Spain
Views: 292
Message 1 of 5

Install Shield doesn't work in X240

Dear all,

 

First of all let me say hello to everybody. I just register few minutes ago, so this is my first post.

 

I have a problem with my Thinkpad X240, Windows 7 Proffesional SP1, 64 bits.  I try to execute some old installers (built with Install Shield), but they don't work. I execute the installer and nothing happens, but I can see the process running in the task manager window (name="setup.exe*32", description = "32-bit Setup Launcher).

 

My colleague's computer is a X230, Windows 7 Proffesional SP1, 64 bits as well, but the installer works on it.

 

I think the problem happens due to some drivers, but I don't know how to procceed.

 

Plase, I would be very grateful if you could help me.

 

Many thanks in advance.

 

Best regards.

x220forme
Not applicable
Posts: 11,891
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 264
Message 2 of 5

Re: Install Shield doesn't work in X240

Hi, agomez

and welcome!

Do you have administrative privileges on your laptop?



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

agomez
Not applicable
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2014
Location: Spain
Views: 255
Message 3 of 5

Re: Install Shield doesn't work in X240

Hi,

 

Yes, I have.

 

Furthermore, I tried to execute the installer with XP compatibility but no way.

x220forme
Not applicable
Posts: 11,891
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 246
Message 4 of 5

Re: Install Shield doesn't work in X240

Did you clean a registry?

Though you don't see any error message installshield related look at the article below, there are a lot of solutions:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2438651

Also I'd advice to look at the system event log.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

agomez
Not applicable
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-15-2014
Location: Spain
Views: 240
Message 5 of 5

Re: Install Shield doesn't work in X240

No errors appears in event log. The proccess setup.exe*32 just keeps running in background. When I execute the installer, nothing happens; no window appears, no errors, no log...

 

It looks like if some driver didn't work properly.

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors