English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

145 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 1 of 3

Intel 5100 stop working occasionally

2009-03-17, 5:11 AM
OS: happend both on Vista Home Basic and XP SP3
Machine: X200

Driver:
happened both with Lenovo pre-install and Intel new driver
happened both w/ or w/o Access Connection

Wireless Router:
ordinary router that I used for a few years. all other notebook/desktop works fine with it.

Problem:
1) sometimes the network just stops working, though the icon may still indicate connection
2) sometimes after standby the network cannot resume without rebooting

What's done, and doesn't seem to make difference:
Disable power saving in the property sheet of wireless adapter, in device manager
Disable power saving on wireless in Lenovo Power Manager

Any insight?

Thanks.
Reply
Options

1 Posts

03-18-2009

USA

2 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎03-18-2009
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 43
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: Intel 5100 stop working occasionally

2009-03-18, 2:50 AM
I have same problem and done everything tech support could tell me and they sent someone and changed the card but still have same problem. After many calls to tech and sale I had to order and pay for a new machine and they are suppose to take this back. Although I paid for new machine I have not received return authorization yet.
Reply
Options

145 Posts

12-14-2008

United States

324 Signins

2878 Page Views

  • Posts: 145
  • Registered: ‎12-14-2008
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 2878
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: Intel 5100 stop working occasionally

2009-03-18, 2:52 AM
Mine is not severe. It happens like a couple of times, even if I have it on all day.
Some say this might be the new Intel card not perfectly compatible with some "older" routers, which doesn't justify it anyway ...

It would be nice if you could post back once you receive a new machine. If that fixes it, I suppose we could also ask for a replacement card and replace by ourselves, to eliminate down time.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete