cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ccl13
Token Ring
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-12-2008
Location: Seattle, US
Views: 1,757
Message 1 of 6

Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

Hi All, Anybody tried to install DDR3 1600MHz on X220? Some says it works but some says it will be limited to 1333MHz. Is it true the speed is limited by BIOS? Any method to bypass the limitation? Thanks everybody!
Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 5,386
Registered: ‎06-26-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,741
Message 2 of 6

Re: Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

It'll work fine in the X220.

I've only seen one account here claiming that the memory would operate at the higher speed spec with BIOS prior to v1.31(?), but I've seen no empirical data bearing it out.

 

Cheers.


Community GuidelinesSearchPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
PM requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee.

ccl13
Token Ring
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎10-12-2008
Location: Seattle, US
Views: 1,734
Message 3 of 6

Re: Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

Thank you sarbin. My new memory kit is underway. Will see if they work at full speed when I get them tested.

vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 345
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 837
Message 4 of 6

Re: Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

I have the most recent BIOS (fixed) and I installed DDR3-1600 and it runs fine at that speed

 

I am using Crucial memory, CL11 which is mediocre grade but it works

 

checked with CPUID and it shows memory at 1600 speed

 

I installed a pair of 4GB sticks for 8192MB memory

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional
Highlighted
GomJabbar
Punch Card
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: Denver, CO
Views: 831
Message 5 of 6

Re: Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

I recently installed (2) 8GB sticks of 1866 speed Crucial Memory in my X220. Works like a champ - so far at least. Passed all the Lenovo memory and hardware tests. CPU-Z reports running at full speed. My BIOS is version 1.26. I have read that BIOS versions above 1.28 throttle the speed to 1333 - unless you flash using a modified 3rd party BIOS update. After one of the more recent BIOS updates, you can not revert to an earlier version (for security reasons they say).

vegan-fanatic
Token Ring
Posts: 345
Registered: ‎05-27-2017
Location: CA
Views: 829
Message 6 of 6

Re: Is X220 supporting DDR3 1600?

I do not understand why Lenovo etc throttle memory in violation of the JEDEC standards

 

all it does is annoy customers who have to turn to fixed ROMs to make the machines run at their best

 

my i5-2520m runs well with a 480GB SSD and 8GB of RAM installed, running Windows 10 pro

I own: T400 T500 X220 X230 all running Windows 10 Professional

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors