Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

3 Posts

02-18-2016

United States of America

1 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 23
  • Message 1 of 6

Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2016-02-18, 23:19 PM

I'm considering getting one with basic CPU configuration and upgrade it to 16GB RAM after I receive it. I checked the hardware maintenance manual of X1 yoga. It seems RAM removal/replacement is not mentioned anywhere in the manual. Could someone tell me definitely if self-upgrade is possible?

 

Thanks!

Reply
Answer
Options

6834 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29132 Signins

1668898 Page Views

  • Posts: 6834
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1668898

Re: Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2016-02-18, 23:28 PM

Good day and welcome to the community.

 

Please see: http://psref.lenovo.com/Product/ThinkPad_X1_Yoga_1st_Gen

and notice the RAM column heading: Memory (soldered)

 

RAM is soldered to the system board, so you'll need to take that into account when configuring.

 

Hope this helps to clarify.

Regards.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

Reply

Replies(5)
Answer
Options

6834 Posts

06-27-2008

United States of America

29132 Signins

1668898 Page Views

  • Posts: 6834
  • Registered: ‎06-27-2008
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 1668898
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2016-02-18, 23:28 PM

Good day and welcome to the community.

 

Please see: http://psref.lenovo.com/Product/ThinkPad_X1_Yoga_1st_Gen

and notice the RAM column heading: Memory (soldered)

 

RAM is soldered to the system board, so you'll need to take that into account when configuring.

 

Hope this helps to clarify.

Regards.


Community GuidelinesPrivate MessagingENDEESPTRUUACZ-SKTRMoto
Requests for individual support are not answered. If a post solves your issue, please mark it so.

I am not a Lenovo employee

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

3 Posts

02-18-2016

United States of America

1 Signins

23 Page Views

  • Posts: 3
  • Registered: ‎02-18-2016
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 23
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2016-02-18, 23:33 PM

Thanks for clarifying. Soldered RAM makes me really hesitate to buy one. I guess it might be a deal breaker for many IT departments. Hope Lenovo plans to change it in the future models. 

Reply
Options

12079 Posts

01-02-2010

United States of America

40350 Signins

424929 Page Views

  • Posts: 12079
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2010
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 424929
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2016-02-18, 23:47 PM
It is based on the X1 carbon form. Those models are all very thin, leaving no room for memory slots. All have soldered RAM

Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
Reply
Options

0 Posts

02-10-2020

United States of America

0 Signins

0 Page Views

  • Posts: 0
  • Registered: ‎02-10-2020
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 0
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2020-02-10, 10:50 AM

A question, who can do this upgrade then? 

I would like to go up to 16gig and it is probably cheaper than a new X1. 

Reply
Options

34 Posts

08-20-2008

Canada

36 Signins

220 Page Views

  • Posts: 34
  • Registered: ‎08-20-2008
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 220
  • Message 6 of 6

Re:Is the RAM on X1 yoga self-upgradeable?

2020-04-24, 21:25 PM

Nope, you can't really do it.  You have to order it with 16gb or just leave it at 8gb.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms