Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
Location: Colorado Springs
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

Just installed Server 2008 64-bit and lost my InterVideo DVD

[ Edited ]

Is there anyway that I can reinstall the DVD player - it comes in handy on those long flights.....

I am running an X300 with 4 gig RAM

Message Edited by twreynol on 12-05-2008 06:48 PM
Posts: 5,222
Solutions: 569
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0 Kudos

Re: Just installed Server 2008 64-bit and lost my InterVideo DVD

welcome to the forum!

 

the intervideo package can be found here: http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-68730.html

 

so you know, server 2008 doesn't contain the codecs necessary to play DVDs.   after all, it's a server OS. Smiley Wink   if the intervideo package doesn't install any codecs then you'll need to install a third-party codec pack like k-lite.

 

i personally use windows media player for DVDs under 2008.   it works quite well.

ThinkStation C20      ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · 600Microsoft MVP

Highlighted
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
Location: Colorado Springs
0 Kudos

Re: Just installed Server 2008 64-bit and lost my InterVideo DVD

Thanks,

The download for InterVideo will only install over an already installed version, but the k-lite codecs pack got my Windows Media Player working, so I will call it good. 

 

64 bit is AWESOME - so much faster than the vista business 32 bit that came preinstalled...