Options

5 Posts

10-15-2020

NO

4 Signins

25 Page Views

• Views: 25
  • Message 1 of 19

Keyboard replaced -- and I no longer feel I have the excellent laptop I purchased

2020-10-15, 10:34 AM

So. I'm a writer and academic and I bought my ThinkPad X1 Yoga 3rd Gen 2 years ago.

The keyboard, the feel and ease of writing on it, was a massively important factor when I chose this PC. Recently the s-key on my keyboard stopped working, and a technician came to my house to fix it. After he left I discovered that parts of the keyboard no longer retracted properly into the top cover when the laptop was closed or flipped. In fact, it could not be fully closed anymore. He came back, and after that all keys kind of retracted, but I still felt that it was not like it used to be. I registered a new service case with Lenovo, who sent someone out with a top cover in which the keyboard was already integrated. I am now typing on this keyboard, but... it is just *not* the same.

I still feel like the keys do not retract as well as they did before when closing and flipping (it seems to close more loosely, not as tightly as before). And the keys are harder to push down. I have to use more force, which matters if you write 8-10 hours in a day (I have a major deadline coming up). I am constantly mistyping as I am used to having to only use the lightest of touches. I did some research and read this: https://www.tomshardware.com/news/lenovo-laptop-quality-control-issues,37510.html 

I asked the Lenovo customer support person for the name of the manufacturer of the keyboard I now have been given. It said DFN, which I have found out is Dafron. I was not able to find out which keyboard I originally had.