Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
SleepSci
Paper Tape
Views: 809
Message 1 of 10

Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Yoga: Strange Fan behaviour

Hello everybody,
I have a slightly obscure problem with my fan which occurred for the first time about a week ago then again twice today. 

The problem is that my fan suddenly goes to full speed only to immediately afterward die entirely, then it sounds like he tries to recover but quickly goes to full speed and the whole process repeats. One cycle takes about 5 Sec. and it keeps doing this even if I reboot in between. After quite some repetitions (i guess of order 20-30) he keeps running on the highest stable fan speed for a few minutes and then shuts down, which seems to be indefinite.

The first time happened while running Windows whereas the other two times happened within Linux, in neither case high fan speed was required (typing or surfing where all activities). In Linux, i have XSensors installed which allows accessing some fan speed data. It turns out that the full speed bursts are depicted by 65535 RPM which then goes down to 0 RPM. The permanent highspeed state was once at 9500 RPM and the other time at 7800 RPM. It seems that 7800 RPM runs longer than 9500 RPM before it drops to 0 RPM and stays there.

There is nothing specifically which I could identify as an origin of this behavior, but since this is my working machine I am seriously worried. Also the sound it makes in the initial "burst"-phase really is annoying.

I really have no clue what to do so any help is welcome.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Michael

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 807
Message 2 of 10

Re: Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Yoga: Strange Fan behaviour

Which version yoga?(1, 2, 3??)

What are the temperatures?

Rich

I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.