cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
ITCultus
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-10-2017
Location: GR
Views: 385
Message 1 of 5

Lenovo X230 32GBRam

Hello,

Recently, I found out that Crucial has a 32GB DDR3 kit for laptops:

Crucial says that it's not compatible with X230 because the X230 says that it supports up to 16GB of RAM. That was true when the X230 hit the streets, but not today.

So, has anyone tried this combination?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 11,434
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 384
Message 2 of 5

Re: Lenovo X230 32GBRam

Hi

No chance with original BIOS.



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

ITCultus
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-10-2017
Location: GR
Views: 383
Message 3 of 5

Re: Lenovo X230 32GBRam

But why?
The memory controller is on the CPU!
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 8,578
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
Location: US
Views: 381
Message 4 of 5

Re: Lenovo X230 32GBRam

The 16GB DIMMs only work with 5th gen Core CPUs and higher.  This is an Intel limitation.  (x230 is 3rd gen CPU)


Rich


I do not respond to requests for private, one-on-one help. Your questions should be posted in the appropriate forum where they may help others as well.

If a response answers your question, please mark it as the accepted solution.

I am not an employee or agent of Lenovo.
ITCultus
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎08-10-2017
Location: GR
Views: 377
Message 5 of 5

Re: Lenovo X230 32GBRam

Grrr.
Many thanks!

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors