cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
sunray-minor
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Location: UK
Views: 25,773
Message 1 of 12

Maximum RAM - x60s

Hi,

 

I'm after some advice please.  I have a X60s 1702 with the 1.5GHz dual core processor fitted with 2Gb of RAM.  I was thinking of adding some additional memory but, depending on which advice I read, either 2Gb is the max it's possible to fit OR I could fit 2 x 2Gb memory modules.

 

Could anyone give me the categorical answer over the maximum RAM it's possible to fit?

 

 Thanks very much,

 

S-M

CSX
Token Ring
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
Location: United States
Views: 25,766
Message 2 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

In short your maximum ram capability in that machine is 4gb max.

 

See:http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-62845&velxr-lay...

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ignorance is no excuse!
Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,514
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 25,748
Message 3 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

Notebook specifications are often wrong when it comes to maximum RAM.

 

I think the reason for this is that the specifications show maximum widely available RAM at the time of release of the notebook.

 

The X61 is a case in point. The X61 specifications clearly say "Supports maximum memory up to 4GB". But the X61 clearly supports 8GB, as does the X61s.

 

I've upgraded two of my recent laptops well beyond the specified maximum.

 

Unfortunately I can't find any evidence that anyone has tried 8GB in an X60!

 

Maybe you want to be the early adopter? Smiley Happy

 

Oh and just as a reminder to anyone following along, you will need a 64 bit OS to see all 8GB.

 

 

 

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 25,739
Message 4 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

Due to chipset limitation, X60s will only be able to address 3GB of RAM, although 4GB can be installed and recognized in BIOS.

 

Hope this helps. 

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,514
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 25,722
Message 5 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

I don't think the chipset is limited to 3GB. It is documented by Intel as capable of 4GB, and the Lenovo also specifies that the X60 is capable of 4GB.

 

32 bit Windows is limited to 3GB though, but who uses that? Smiley Wink

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 25,704
Message 6 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

That's where things get tricky...

 

"Capable" is Lenovospeak for "will be seen in BIOS and will boot with 4GB RAM." 

 

What Intel says doesn't matter much on this generation of the machines, as we've seen in T60 which falls under the same rule of the thumb...

 

Try actually addressing 4GB of RAM in a X60/s/T and you might be surprised... 

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
SuperMod
SuperMod
Posts: 5,698
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: US
Views: 25,696
Message 7 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s


bananaman wrote:

I don't think the chipset is limited to 3GB.


i do. Smiley Very Happy

 

like george said above, it doesn't matter how well the planets have been aligned, what voodoo the local witchdoctor has performed, or if you wore clean underwear today like your mother asked you to do, there is absolutely no way to get an X60 or X60s to address more than 3GB even if 4GB are installed. Smiley Wink

ThinkStation P700      ThinkPad P40 · 600

Community SuperMod
Community SuperMod
Posts: 4,514
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: US
Views: 25,689
Message 8 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

Aha! So what the Lenovo spec should really say is that you can install 4GB, but only use 3GB! Whatever OS you use, 32 or 64 bit. Don't you love marketing!
I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
sunray-minor
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
Location: UK
Views: 25,646
Message 9 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

Thank you all very much for your help.

 

S-M

PeterX60s
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-25-2009
Location: California
Views: 25,003
Message 10 of 12

Re: Maximum RAM - x60s

Is that advice for an x60s running XP?  What about Vista Ultimate?  Would 4GB be useable with Vista?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors