Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2012
Location: USA
Message 1 of 10 (17,895 Views)

Mulitple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

I have a simple question, but the answer is not obvious (to me anyway) from checking the Lenovo product detail pages.

 

Can I run 2 external monitors using the Ultrabase 3 with the X230 docked and the lid closed, so not using the built-in X230 display at all?

 

And if so, what mixes are allowed between VGA and DVI?

 

The product feature page for Ultrabase says it has both VGA and Display Port outputs.  It doesn't say whether both can be used at once.  And the link to the supported monitor configurations from that page just goes to a general page with a ton of info on docking solutions, but nothing on that page gets you to a list of monitor configurations.  Duh.

 

Any help is appreciated. 

 

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,273
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 2 of 10 (17,887 Views)

Re: Mulitple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

Yes, and any mix is allowed for running 2 external LCD.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Posts: 406
Topics: 3
Kudos: 81
Solutions: 25
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Message 3 of 10 (17,829 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

Hello KDLawler,

 

From the docks, and more reference guide the Ultrabase 3 is not compatible with the X230.  But the Mini Dock Series 3 with USB 3.0  and the Mini Dock Plus Series 3 with USB 3.0 is compatible with the X230.  The Ultrabase is only compatible with the X220, X220T, and the X220 Tablet.

 

Here is the guide where I found this information:

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/detail.page?LegacyDocID=migr-4tpjf4

The Laptop has mini display port, and VGA on it, for external monitors.

 

Here is a layout for multiple monitor with just the Dock.  Remember that the 1st screen would be the laptop.

 

 

But there is probably a way to connect without a dock using just the Laptops VGA, and mini-display port technologies.

If you have anymore questions please ask them.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Alex

 


Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve the problem you encountered? Click Solution Provided to let us know!

What we Do in Life will Echo through Eternity. -Maximus Aurelius
Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,273
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 4 of 10 (17,818 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

Ultrabase 3 is compatible with X230/t i had one with my X230 and X220.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Highlighted
Posts: 406
Topics: 3
Kudos: 81
Solutions: 25
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Message 5 of 10 (17,817 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

Well, that support page might be something for Lenovo to update. Smiley Wink

I'll see what I can do about getting that done.

 

Alex


Was this or another post on the forum helpful? Click the star on the left side of the screen to give kudos! Did someone solve the problem you encountered? Click Solution Provided to let us know!

What we Do in Life will Echo through Eternity. -Maximus Aurelius
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-23-2012
Location: United Kingdom
Message 6 of 10 (17,126 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

So, going back to the original question... is there way of using a dual monitor display using either the Ultrabase 3 or directly from the X230? I've got two awesome 23" screens sitting on my desk, just waiting to be used - both have DVI inputs. How do I connect DisplayPort to the DVIs?

Posts: 21,009
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,273
Solutions: 1,357
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Message 7 of 10 (17,087 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

is your 23 inch 1080p resolution or higher?

To connect to DVI port on the LCD, and depending on the resolution of the LCD itself. You can either:

1. Buy a series 3 mobile workstation dock with 2 x DVI-D single link + 2 Displayport ports, which would save you the converter cable cost.

2. Or you are using the LCD side by side, then you can go with Lenovo Displayport to Displayport splitter. But you would still need two active displayport to dvi converter.

In the end, i think the dock is the cheaper and more convenientt choice for you and your current usage.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
HDMI
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎12-20-2011
Location: usa
Message 8 of 10 (17,002 Views)

Re: Multiple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

I tried this and it would not work. I can only drive one external monitor from my x230
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-05-2014
Location: Washington DC
Message 9 of 10 (6,859 Views)

Re: Mulitple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

If I understood correctly, mixing use of VGA and DP would only give you two working external monitors. The X230 screen will be turned off.

 

How to have 2 external monitors working and X230 screen on using Ultrabse 3?

Could you give me a combination of ports to be used to do the trick?

 

Thanks

Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-21-2016
Location: california
Message 10 of 10 (948 Views)

Re: Mulitple monitors on Ultrabase 3 with X230

This is the equipment that I have:

 

2 Samsung S22D30HY montiors with VGA and HDMI inputs

X230

Ultrabase series 3. 

 

I only need the 2 Samsung monitors to display while the X230 is closed.

 

I have tried one monitor with VGA hook up and the second with HDMI (DP adapter) plugged in next to it. I have also tried a VGA splitter and a VGA to USB adapter.

 

Dumb it down for me because I have done this several times on different units and I have never had this much trouble. 

 

Thanks!

Top Kudoed Authors