DE

19 Signins

197 Page Views

• Views: 197
  • Message 1 of 12

New Lenovo X1 Extreme + Docking Station nightmare

2019-10-09, 10:13 AM

Hello,

I'm an independent Software Developer and a new project required to buy a new notebook. Because I depend hardly on it I decided to buy one of the best I could find - I really can't afford any computer issues.

So I ordered on 21 July a custom build Lenovo X1 Extreme Gen1. Unfortunately the notebook arrived DOA (could not be charged via power supply). I returned it immediately but still had to wait till 19. September to receive a replacement unit. This very long delay had a big drawback on my work.

The new notebook seems to work good and I really like it. So I decided to order a Docking Station because I need 3 extern monitors, Lan cable etc.

I ordered the ThinkPad Thunderbolt 3 Workstation Dock 230W (40AN0230EU). I connected both power supplies (230W AND 65W) and connected the Docking Station to the X1 Extreme. 3 Monitors worked well but the Notbook will not charge via Docking Station (but it charges using the notebook power supply). I got the Windows message that not enough power is delivered to the notebook. I installed the new Firmware (3.1.64) to the Dock and all new drivers, Firmware and Bios to the Notebook.

Again I called the Lenovo Support. They sent me a new Docking station (without cables and power suplies ?!?). Still the same issue.

Because the issue could be caused by a damaged power supply I returned the first ordered Docking Station to the vendor and purchased a new one from another vendor. Still the same issue....

I again called the Lenovo support and they sent me a new mainbord for the X1 Extreme. It was yesterday replaced by a Lenovo technician. Still same issue. He also could not give any solution for the charging problem.