English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

03-09-2017

US

46 Signins

440 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 440
  • Message 1 of 5

New X270's unable to duplicate display to external device

2017-11-07, 19:15 PM

Hello, we are in the midst of a Win10 deployment, and are upgrading approximately 3,000 X240 & X250's with the new X270's, however re are running into an issue, whereby when Win+P is pressed, we are unable to 'Duplicate' the display to any 2nd video output. We can Extend, use Primary only, or Secondary only, but no option to Duplicate. Has anyone else experienced this? Thank you.

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-09-2017

US

46 Signins

440 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 440
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: New X270's unable to duplicate display to external device

2018-01-19, 18:30 PM

anyone experience this???

Reply
Options

821 Posts

02-20-2009

US

1000 Signins

6041 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎02-20-2009
  • Location: US
  • Views: 6041
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: New X270's unable to duplicate display to external device

2018-01-19, 19:15 PM

How is the external device connected?

 

For an X270, it should be either with it's HDMI port, native connection, no conversion (preferred), or a USB-C to something else adapter.

 

For the X270, it should only be one of these for the USB-C port

Lenovo USB-C to HDMI Plus Power Adapter4X90K86567
Lenovo USB C to VGA Plus Power Adapter4X90K86568
ThinkPad USB-C  Dock - US40A90090US
Lenovo USB-C to DisplayPort Adapter4X90L66916
  
Lenovo USB-C to HDMI Adapter4X90M44010 
Lenovo USB-C to VGA Adapter 4X90M42956  
Reply
Options

16 Posts

03-09-2017

US

46 Signins

440 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎03-09-2017
  • Location: US
  • Views: 440
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: New X270's unable to duplicate display to external device

2018-01-22, 20:27 PM

So the issue we have been experiencing is in our conference rooms - where the connections to the displays are all done via VGA.  We were using StarTech HD to VGA (HD2VGAE2) connectors, however, with the X270's they do not appear to work as expected. Does the X270 only support USB-C connectors for 'extending the display' across multiple monitors?

 

Many thanks for the quick reply! 

Reply
Options

821 Posts

02-20-2009

US

1000 Signins

6041 Page Views

  • Posts: 821
  • Registered: ‎02-20-2009
  • Location: US
  • Views: 6041
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: New X270's unable to duplicate display to external device

2018-01-23, 20:08 PM

We only test with our adapters, so I can't say what might be happening with the Startech ones...

 

Also...note that long VGA cable runs with amplifiers (sometimes rigged up in conference rooms) can cause problems...I've seen many with cables that exceed the standard VGA length, or supposed signal regenerators that are just terrible.

 

A test to see if it's the conversion cable or the potental of a long cable run (or both) causing an issue would be to take a VGA capable monitor into the room, and connect it with a standard 6' VGA cable to your Startech converter cable...

 

If that works, its the long VGA conference room cable runs that are causing issues.

 

If it fails, it is the Startech converter cable...which leads to the next round of tests...

 

If you then get a Lenovo USB-C to VGA converter, retest with the standard length VGA cable and VGA monitor (it should work)...then use the Lenovo USB-C to VGA converter with the conference room wiring...if it then FAILS, the long conference room cable runs are causing too much VGA signal attenuation....no fix for that, unfortunately.

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save