Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Community Spotlight

Visit the Lenovo Blogs!

Check out the ThinkPad Time Machine
Visit the Community Spotlight Blog
Windows  10

Are you ready for Windows 10?

Get to know Windows 10
Visit the Windows 10 Support Center
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
0 Kudos

Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hi all, just wondering if it's possible to do things like:

 

1) change the duration an on-screen icon (changing volume, caps lock, whatever) remains on screen

 

2) turning off the fade

 

3) moving the caps lock icon to the other side (I have a vertical taskbar running up the right side, and the icon obscures it)

 

Just wondering if any of that is possible?

 

 

Community SuperMod
Posts: 3,869
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: San Francisco
0 Kudos

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hi turnstyle!

 

Yes, No, No.

 

Right click on Desktop>Screen Resolution>Advanced Settings>On Screen Display should get you this:

 

OSDSettings.JPG

 

If you don't see this tab, then install the Hotkey Utility.

 

Hope this helps!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
0 Kudos

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Thanks! Wish I could do that other stuff, but this is a help -- at least now I know where to look... Smiley Happy
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
0 Kudos

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

It's funny -- the "fadeout time" includes the roughly-one-second fadeout at the end.

So if you set the fadeout time to 2, you get the display solid on-screen for 1 second, then 1 second of fade -- and if you set the fadeout time to 1, you get no solid display, it's all fade.
Guru
Posts: 8,986
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Vancouver
0 Kudos

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

If one was good with hexediting, one may be able to move the indicator symbol.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/688/1376, 21GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Y3P: 5Y70, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD, QHD+ screen
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-20-2015
Location: 94501
0 Kudos

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hey, I have a similar problem on my Thinkpad E545 running Windows7.  When I mute the volume using the PF Key, the Lenovo speaker icon will keep appearing on my screen in random locations.

 

Using the suggestion to disable the on-screen display works but is an over-kill solution because it turns off ALL PF Key screen displays.  For example, I would still like to know when NUM Lock or CAPS lock is on or off when I set them.

 

A better solution would be to make the volume mute PF Key screen displayn function like the NUM lock PF Key and that is, make it display one-time only when the key is pressed.   That can't be hard to do.  Can Lenovo do that?  If so, how can I get this onto Lenovo tech support?

 

Thanks.