Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
Message 1 of 6 (1,075 Views)

Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hi all, just wondering if it's possible to do things like:

 

1) change the duration an on-screen icon (changing volume, caps lock, whatever) remains on screen

 

2) turning off the fade

 

3) moving the caps lock icon to the other side (I have a vertical taskbar running up the right side, and the icon obscures it)

 

Just wondering if any of that is possible?

 

 

Community SuperMod
Posts: 3,996
Registered: ‎04-25-2008
Location: San Francisco
Message 2 of 6 (1,073 Views)

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hi turnstyle!

 

Yes, No, No.

 

Right click on Desktop>Screen Resolution>Advanced Settings>On Screen Display should get you this:

 

 

If you don't see this tab, then install the Hotkey Utility.

 

Hope this helps!

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
Message 3 of 6 (1,068 Views)

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Thanks! Wish I could do that other stuff, but this is a help -- at least now I know where to look... Smiley Happy
Punch Card
Posts: 102
Registered: ‎12-14-2007
Location: NYC
Message 4 of 6 (1,066 Views)

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

It's funny -- the "fadeout time" includes the roughly-one-second fadeout at the end.

So if you set the fadeout time to 2, you get the display solid on-screen for 1 second, then 1 second of fade -- and if you set the fadeout time to 1, you get no solid display, it's all fade.
Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Message 5 of 6 (1,063 Views)

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

If one was good with hexediting, one may be able to move the indicator symbol.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-20-2015
Location: 94501
Message 6 of 6 (318 Views)

Re: Possible to configure on-screen display?

Hey, I have a similar problem on my Thinkpad E545 running Windows7.  When I mute the volume using the PF Key, the Lenovo speaker icon will keep appearing on my screen in random locations.

 

Using the suggestion to disable the on-screen display works but is an over-kill solution because it turns off ALL PF Key screen displays.  For example, I would still like to know when NUM Lock or CAPS lock is on or off when I set them.

 

A better solution would be to make the volume mute PF Key screen displayn function like the NUM lock PF Key and that is, make it display one-time only when the key is pressed.   That can't be hard to do.  Can Lenovo do that?  If so, how can I get this onto Lenovo tech support?

 

Thanks.

top kudoed authors