Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

615 Posts

12-11-2012

raleigh, nc

299 Signins

8131 Page Views

  • Posts: 615
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2012
  • Location: raleigh, nc
  • Views: 8131
  • Message 11 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-01-29, 21:27 PM
Glad its working out.

Fingers crossed on its longevity..!
Be AWESOME Everyday!

Donate KUDOS and Click "Accepted Solution"

Did someone help you today?
Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Reply
Options

615 Posts

12-11-2012

raleigh, nc

299 Signins

8131 Page Views

  • Posts: 615
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2012
  • Location: raleigh, nc
  • Views: 8131
  • Message 12 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-01-31, 1:24 AM
Hi All,

Can everyone supply me with this info?

-What wireless router are you connecting to?
-What WLAN card are you using?
-And, do any other devices connect to the network?

Just gathering information to see if there s a common factor.

Thanks everyone!
Be AWESOME Everyday!

Donate KUDOS and Click "Accepted Solution"

Did someone help you today?
Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Reply
Options

5 Posts

01-27-2013

Canada

6 Signins

35 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎01-27-2013
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 35
  • Message 13 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-01-31, 3:08 AM

I have the same issue with my new purchase X230

 

Please check the subject "X230 losing wifi connect randomly" in forums.

Reply
Options

20 Posts

01-26-2013

Australia

67 Signins

306 Page Views

  • Posts: 20
  • Registered: ‎01-26-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 306
  • Message 14 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-01-31, 4:34 AM

Not really sure what the point is of directing to another thread without any solution.

 

Have you tried latest drivers? You provide a lot of details that aren't really relevant but leave out important ones like this.

 

"Intel(R) Centrino(R) Advanced-N 6205"

 

As for the accesspoints in use I have used

Apple Airport Express (802.11n version from about 2 years ago).

Cisco branded access point (in office - I cannot see model number since they are on the roof). They look like this (version without the external antennas) http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps12534/index.html

 

So plenty of other devices in the office of course. On the Airport, the only other device is an Android phone.

Reply
Options

1 Posts

02-02-2013

Australia

1 Signins

12 Page Views

  • Posts: 1
  • Registered: ‎02-02-2013
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 12
  • Message 15 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-02, 16:08 PM

I have an X1 Carbon with Intel Centrino N 6205 running Windows 8 64bit. I have experienced this same problem since purchase late last year. The problem occurs with different wifi access points. Range from the AP does not make a difference. Connection drop outs seem to occur randomly, sometimes only a few minutes apart, sometimes 15 to 20 minutes. Sometimes placing the laptop into airplane mode and out again re-establishes the connection but more often I have to disable the interface through control panel. Occasionally the windows troubleshooter will fix the problem by resetting the wifi network device. Often the laptop cannot see any access points even though there are several within range. Interestingly, when windows reports that there are no access points available, I can still see access points using 'inSSIDer'.

 

I have updated the 6205 driver using the latest drivers from Intel. This seems to have made the interface a bit more stable, however, drop outs are still occurring.

 

The X1 does not have a built in Ethernet port, requiring a USB dongle for Ethernet connectivity (at only 100Mbps). The wifi interface is the primary method of connection. I am very disappointed that Lenovo have released such a poorly tested product. This X1 was purchased as an evaluation unit. We purchase hundreds of laptops on behalf of our clients every year and I have just struck off Lenovo from the evaluation list  for the next couple of years based on my experience with the X1 over the last few months.

 

 

Reply
Options

2483 Posts

04-08-2011

United States of America

5471 Signins

46460 Page Views

  • Posts: 2483
  • Registered: ‎04-08-2011
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 46460
  • Message 16 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-02, 18:51 PM

wrote:

I have an X1 Carbon with Intel Centrino N 6205 running Windows 8 64bit. I have experienced this same problem since purchase late last year. The problem occurs with different wifi access points. Range from the AP does not make a difference. Connection drop outs seem to occur randomly, sometimes only a few minutes apart, sometimes 15 to 20 minutes. Sometimes placing the laptop into airplane mode and out again re-establishes the connection but more often I have to disable the interface through control panel. Occasionally the windows troubleshooter will fix the problem by resetting the wifi network device. Often the laptop cannot see any access points even though there are several within range. Interestingly, when windows reports that there are no access points available, I can still see access points using 'inSSIDer'.

 

I have updated the 6205 driver using the latest drivers from Intel. This seems to have made the interface a bit more stable, however, drop outs are still occurring.

 

The X1 does not have a built in Ethernet port, requiring a USB dongle for Ethernet connectivity (at only 100Mbps). The wifi interface is the primary method of connection. I am very disappointed that Lenovo have released such a poorly tested product. This X1 was purchased as an evaluation unit. We purchase hundreds of laptops on behalf of our clients every year and I have just struck off Lenovo from the evaluation list  for the next couple of years based on my experience with the X1 over the last few months.

 

 


Did you run any network traces and get a capture so you could determine why?

Reply
Options

615 Posts

12-11-2012

raleigh, nc

299 Signins

8131 Page Views

  • Posts: 615
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2012
  • Location: raleigh, nc
  • Views: 8131
  • Message 17 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-05, 23:03 PM

Hi All,

 

In another forum post, the support specialist found that Windows 8 has conflicts with Cisco based routers.

Be AWESOME Everyday!

Donate KUDOS and Click "Accepted Solution"

Did someone help you today?
Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Reply
Options

27 Posts

12-21-2012

USA

41 Signins

328 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 328
  • Message 18 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-07, 1:38 AM

I am having the exact same experience as Monty13.  Sometimes airplane mode works, other times I have to disable/re-enable the card.  I have had the problem with the default drivers as well as the latest from Intel (as of 1-2 weeks ago).  No real change (in fact it may be worse on the latest) or issue resolution.

 

I am running the 6205 on my X1 touch with Windows 8, stock driver as well as the latest (15.5.7.52) from Intel.  I am connecting to a Ubiquiti UniFi AP.

Reply
Options

615 Posts

12-11-2012

raleigh, nc

299 Signins

8131 Page Views

  • Posts: 615
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2012
  • Location: raleigh, nc
  • Views: 8131
  • Message 19 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-07, 3:34 AM

Hi Ezekial,

 

Thank you for sharing with us on the forum today.

 

Do you know if the frimware for your Ubiquiti has been updated?

Also, are you running the PROSet Wireless software?

Are the security settings properly set or have you tried them on another setting?

Are you single band or dual band?

If dual band, does changing the settings help?

 

Is your Win8 32 or 64 bit?

Be AWESOME Everyday!

Donate KUDOS and Click "Accepted Solution"

Did someone help you today?
Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"

This will help the rest of the Community with similar issues identify the verified solution and benefit from it.
Reply
Options

27 Posts

12-21-2012

USA

41 Signins

328 Page Views

  • Posts: 27
  • Registered: ‎12-21-2012
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 328
  • Message 20 of 109

Re: x1 carbon wireless problem

2013-02-11, 3:11 AM

Is it possible to even get the X1 Touch with 32bit? 

 

I am running Win8 64bit, as installed OEM from Lenovo. I received my unit about 1-2 weeks after first availability.  Evidenlty I do have some ProSet software installed, mostly likely from you guys.  I do not believe I installed it, but cannot confirm.  I generally do driver only.  As noted I experienced the problem both before (stock driver) and after the driver upgrade (latest intel).

 

I have not tried changing any security settings as I have had my current AP setup as WPA2 for about 8 months now, and generally I don't have to many problems.  I do have a PC or 2 and a phone or 2 that does occasionally required a good disconnect and reconnect, but it's once every couple of weeks .  The X1 Touch requires it much more frequently, on hte order of a few times daily or a few times a week (based on how much I use it).   The firmware is a few versions behind at 2.2.5.  Updating to 2.3.9 in a few minutes.  The band is 2.4ghz and is set to N/G.  I think at this point I can also test moving this to just N, I will try that as well.

 

 

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms