English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

37 Posts

01-10-2012

Pennsylvania

37 Signins

187 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • Views: 187
  • Message 1 of 6

Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-03-27, 4:26 AM
I have used the Ricoh reader to back up my data partition by drag-and-drop copy to Transcend SDHC card. When I try to use drag-and-drop copy again to copy the updated data partition I get the message that there is not sufficient free space. But when I use this procedure on an external USB HDD I do not have that problem--Windows simply copies over the old file on the external HDD. Why does this not work with SDHC card in the Ricoh reader? Also, with this Class 10 SDHC card the initial backup took ages! Please advise, as I really want to use SDHC in the Ricoh reader as a backup medium.
Reply
Options

3653 Posts

12-02-2007

US

8984 Signins

185491 Page Views

  • Posts: 3653
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 185491
  • Message 2 of 6

Re: Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-03-27, 7:51 AM

Hello,

 

My guess would be that the Windows "drag and drop" method does not account for duplicated files when calculating the size of the files to transfer.  You might want to look into a third-party program to perform the copy which does take that into account, or look into using the command line-based RoboCopy (filename: ROBOCOPY.EXE) utility to perform the operation.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

37 Posts

01-10-2012

Pennsylvania

37 Signins

187 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • Views: 187
  • Message 3 of 6

Re: Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-03-28, 2:39 AM
Thanks for the comment. But this is still a mystery, as the drag-and-drop copy for backup works fine with my external USB HDDs. I get dialogue box asking if I want to have both files, original in the target drive and the one I am trying to copy to there or to replace the one in the target drive. Maybe this works because they are formatted NTFS? So maybe I will format the SDHC as NTFS and see if that makes a difference. I had wanted to use on SDHC either Fat32 or exFAT. The reason I am using the Windows copy function is to not depend on any software for backup, to be able to take the back up HDD or SDHC to any Windows computer and copy it to its HDD or use the files from the backup drive. Also, with NTFS formatting I could still read all the files on a Mac with their latest OS.
Reply
Options

3653 Posts

12-02-2007

US

8984 Signins

185491 Page Views

  • Posts: 3653
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 185491
  • Message 4 of 6

Re: Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-03-28, 2:45 AM

Hello,

 

You can definitely try a different file system to see if that makes any difference, but I suspect it's more of a free space availability issue.

 

What is the total size of the files you are trying to copy?

 

What is the size and free space on the Transcend SDHC card and the external USB hard disk drives, respectively?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

37 Posts

01-10-2012

Pennsylvania

37 Signins

187 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • Views: 187
  • Message 5 of 6

Re: Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-03-29, 3:19 AM
Re the size and free space on the Transcend SDHC card and the external USB hard disk drives, respectively: 16 GB Transcend SDHC, Class 10. Free space about 1.6GB 250 (maybe 500)GB External USB HDDs, Free space is most of each drive. Files trying to copy: 12.9GB So do you think Windows would not be "upset" and would be "amenable" to doing the copy action if I used, say, a 32GB SDHC?
Reply
Options

37 Posts

01-10-2012

Pennsylvania

37 Signins

187 Page Views

  • Posts: 37
  • Registered: ‎01-10-2012
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • Views: 187
  • Message 6 of 6

Re: Ricoh reader-SDHC for backup-cannot do copy and replace

2014-04-06, 17:00 PM
Aryeh: I have been thinking you are probably right re lack of sufficient free space on the SDHC, such that Windows would "see" enough free room on the target drive already containing 13gb of backup data for all the info to be copied from the source drive using the copy command. I am guessing that the target drive format (NTFS vs FAT32 vs exFAT is not the problem that has prevented me from using the copy command with my 16gb SDHC. So I am going to try to do the backup of 13gb data instead with a 32gb SDHC, which would provide more than enough free space once it is populated with an initial backup comprising about 13gb of data. Will post the outcome here.
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete