cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
netmessys
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2014
Location: Dominican Republic
Views: 18,008
Message 1 of 18

SSD x1 carbon changing

Hey guys how you doing today?

Here I come...

I got a new X1  (207A) with 128sdd, i also have a x1 (3448) with a 256 sdd.......

 

I want interchange the sdd on those X1s... I do have the recovery DVD that came with the new one, but none for the old one...

 

Can you guys tell me how can I do that?

 

Best regards...Smiley Happy

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 17,965
Message 2 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

It's not possible because the two systems use SSDs with different physical sizes. The original X1C uses an mSATA SSD but the X1C2 uses an M.2 SSD.

 

M.2 - mSATA Comparison

 

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
netmessys
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2014
Location: Dominican Republic
Views: 17,938
Message 3 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

Thanks Buddy... but what can I use to increase my storage capacity ..
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 17,932
Message 4 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

Excellent question! It's something that I've also been exploring (although I haven't bought anything yet.)

 

1. You can look for a 240GB or 480GB M.2 SSD, e.g. Crucial M500 240GB SATA 6Gbps M.2 Internal SSD [Crucial PN: CT240M500SSD4]But note that only one M.2 slot in the X1C2 will recognize SSDs. In order to clone your existing SSD you will need some way to connect it to the X1C2 via USB, e.g. ZTC Thunder Board M.2 (NGFF) SSD to SATA III Board Adapter. Multi Size Fit with High Speed 6.0GB/s. ... plus Patuoxun USB 2.0 to Sata Converter Adapter Cable w/ 2.5" 2.5 Inch Hard Drive HDD Case.

 

2. Another option would be to get a 64GB or 128GB USB flash drive or uSD card with USB adapter. Unfortunately Lenovo made a huge design blunder (IMO) because the X1C2 lacks an SD card slot so there will be a dongle sticking out of one side of the system. So much for sleekness and portability Smiley Sad And of course this will be slower than an SSD.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
netmessys
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-16-2014
Location: Dominican Republic
Views: 17,922
Message 5 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

Just a dummy question ...   if i have the restore dvds..  can I get the crucial 480G ssd disk, replace and run the restore...?

 

Or i have to clone the disk anyway?

 

thks.

SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 17,916
Message 6 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

Yes, you can do that providing of course that you have an USB-attached DVD drive.

 

This will result in a fresh OS install so you will also lose any customization, apps, data, etc. that were added to the original drive. If you want to keep that stuff you will have to backup the original SSD to other media before you replace it with the new SSD. (Or get the M.2 -> SATA -> USB adapters so you can access that drive after the upgrade.)

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
drblof
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Location: Denmark
Views: 16,984
Message 7 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

 

Hello,

 

I got a Lenovo X1 (2. gen) 20A7-005KMD - I am getting a bit confused because of the different links (and generations of X1) when looking at upgrading the SSD. Do anyone know if 

 

Crucial M550 - solid state drive - 512 GB - SATA-600 (pic below) M.2

 

will fit the Lenovo X1 (2. gen)? In advance thanks for responding!

 

Best wiihes Bo (the upgrate PC iliterate)

 

Link to image

 

Moderator note: large image(s) converted to link(s):  About Posting Pictures In The Forums

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 16,976
Message 8 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

@drblof,

https://www.flickr.com/photos/lead_org/13974204523/in/photolist-kW49cx-nV9MHF-nV9qX3-nhRs9K-mZmjw2-n...

you have the correct M2 SSD. The above picture are 2 M.2 that i taken out of mine ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 2.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
SeniorGuru
Posts: 2,719
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: CA
Views: 16,973
Message 9 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

> Crucial M550 - solid state drive - 512 GB - SATA-600 (pic below) M.2 will fit the Lenovo X1 (2. gen)?

 

I belive so. Compare with the M500 I linked to above. Both are M.2 and the same size/shape.

 

As I understand it, the 2nd gen X1C SSD uses the industry standard M.2 interface while the 1st gen uses a more proprietary interface.

__________________________________________________
Cheers... Dorian Hausman • ca.gif English community
X1C6, E470, Y900s, [R.I.P. X1C2, T430s, TPT2, SL500, X61s, T60p, A21p, 770, 760ED... 5160, 5150... S360/30]
Rage8072
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-09-2014
Location: New York City
Views: 16,663
Message 10 of 18

Re: SSD x1 carbon changing

Jin and Hausman... Help me out... I've been reading you posts on this which are BY FAR the most useful on all of the net. Lenovo helpdesk do not seem to know either.

So I have a 2nd gen model 207A as the other person on this thread.

I have 2 questions:

1. With you post above, I have a Windows 7 OS factory installed with Win8 upgrade rights. Can I still clone drive and will it work? I have a USB adaptor and a microSD w/ 128GB. I just need some help in a resource that can take me to the right place to do this. I already bought the crucial drive this other fellow had.

2. There is still a slot PCIe open for the Sierra Gobi card. Is there an adaptor or anything I can get on the market that will allow me to put another SSD card into this computer?

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors