Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
gblekk
Core Memory
Views: 939
Message 1 of 13

Scratches all over touchscreen

So, I've already been informed that even if I had any warrenty this would be considered cosmetic damage  and therefore not covered. This laptop is about 5 months old and the keys look like they're burning into the screen. Obviously I should have bought a screen protector immediately, it was insane of me to think that any Lenovo product would be even basically functional right out of the box. Apparently it's from microscopic dust getting caught in the keyboard and then rubbing the screen when it closes. 

So I will get a screen protector, but is there any way to get rid of these scratches without replacing the screen? I've heard people mention using tooothpaste, but I'm a digital artist so I relaly don't want to risk anything effecting the pressure sensitivity of the screen.These gouges already effect drawing with the pen a lot, the pen gives a jump every time it hits one and it makes the screeen pretty unreadable in almost every lighting condition. Has anyone ever tried a screen protector with this kind of damage, would a matte or privacy protector maybe smooth these out enough haptically and visually without me having to mess with the screen a lot first? 

If I do have to replace the screen, does anyone have suggestions on how I can purchase a replacement screen? 

This is a Lenovo Thinkpad X1 Yoga 3rd Gen. The screen is 4K, touch and pen. 

LenovoScratches.jpgscratches in the exact shape of the keyboard

PolishPaul
SCSI Port
Views: 925
Message 2 of 13

Re: Scratches all over touchscreen

Cosmetic damage?! Who told you that?! That's ridiculous!

gblekk
Core Memory
Views: 909
Message 3 of 13

There are all kinds of posts on this forum about this issue, but the only one I can find with replies from lenovo is this one:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/ThinkPad-11e-Windows-13-E-and/Screen-gets-Scratches/td-p/1519412