cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,287
Message 1 of 18

Sierra Wireless EM7345

WARNING!!! The instructions in this post are applicable only to EM7345 installed in Lenovo laptops!! For example, models T440, X240, X1 Carbon 2nd and 3rd gen, X250. For tablets or other devices don’t use the firmware given in this post, you can brick your EM7345!

 

Unfortunately, the default factory EM7345 firmware version  (1.1) has some bugs. For example, after connecting to a LTE network and then disconnecting manually, the network status of the connection was changing for me to “No service” until device restart. Also, the device often disappears from Device Manager and reappears there with the name “1 CDC” and does not work until you disable and then enable it again in Device Manager. All those issues are caused by some bugs in EM7345 firmware.

But there is a newer version of firmware, namely 1.2, where the above bugs are fixed. But by default, you cannot flash it, because firmware updating is supposed to work unattended. And this is not nice of Intel and Lenovo. The users must be able to do firmware updating when they need or want it! Bad, bad Lenovo, very bad! :)

Here’s the instructions of how to flash your EM7345 to the latest version:

Make sure you’re using Windows 8 or 8.1

Go to the control panel and uninstall Sierra Wireless EM734x 4G LTE Software from Program and Features.

Reboot your laptop.

Download and install the latest EM7345 driver package from the Lenovo website. http://support.lenovo.com/us/en/products/laptops-and-netbooks/thinkpad-t-series-laptops/thinkpad-t44.... This package already includes the 1.2 firmware, but by default it’s never going to be flashed into your EM7345, unless you live in some specific country.

Find the file “c:\ProgramData\Intel\MBIM Toolkit\config\Config.xml” and open it in any text editor. Find the following string in the file: “<SilentAutoFWUpdate>true</SilentAutoFWUpdate>” and change “true” to “false”.  Also check that the string “<FirmwareSysTray>true</FirmwareSysTray>” is set to “true” and set it to “true” if it’s not.

Make sure after you edit the file contents is the following:

 
 
 
 
 
  
semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,284
Message 2 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

Now, reboot your laptop.

After reboot, you will notice  a new icon in the system tray for Intel firmware updater service:

Em7345-tray

Don’t proceed if you don’t see this icon.

Double click the icon to bring up the Intel firmware updater utility.

Em7345-updater

 

 

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,281
Message 3 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

Notice the highlighted area. You should see your country and cellular operator listed there. Also check “Home Provider ID” value. It should contain a 5-digit code, for example “26299”. If you don’t see any data shown, make sure your SIM card is inserted and you can see your cellular provider name in Windows 8 Connections Manager.

Don’t proceed if you don’t see Home Provider ID, your county and your operator name!

Now, find and open in a text editor the following file: “”c:\ProgramData\Intel\MBIM Toolkit\FirmwareDatabase\PreInstalled\FLSInformation.xml”. Scroll to the very end of it and before </FLSImageList> string insert the following text:

 

where MCC is the first 3 digits of the code shown in “Home Provider ID”. If your code is 26299, then MCC must be 262. MNC is the last 2 digits of the code, if your code is 26299, then your MNC must be 99.

Make sure the end of the file with your added data looks like this:

 

Save the file and reboot your laptop.

After reboot, wait for some time until you get a prompt from Intel firmware updater to update your firmware. Press “Yes” and the firmware update progress will begin!

em7345update

It should complete in a few seconds, maybe 10-20. After the process is done and the updater says so, wait for a couple of minutes. Don’t reboot your laptop.

After the updating is done, your EM7345 can appear in Device Manager with a different name, and AT and GNSS ports can be gone, and VID/PID can be reset again to bad values. You will need to reinitialize your EM7345 again, as described in this post.  If you want to also get back your AT and GNSS ports, refer to this post.

If you have AT ports enabled, check the version of firmware:

 

The version should read as 1.2 now. If so, you have successfully updated your EM7345 to the latest available firmware. I personally noticed that “1 CDC” bug is gone, and LTE connecting and reconnecting works fine now. I also can observe a very rare bug when my EM7345 is shown with an exclamation mark in Device Manager after the laptop wakes up from sleep, but I use to fix that by disabling it in Device Manager and enabling it again. Other than that, there are no bugs and LTE works like a charm :)

Does anyone know if there’s a newer than 1.2 firmware for EM7345? Lenovo or Intel, can you answer? Lenovo users would like to see ALL bugs fixed :) Hahaha.

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,279
Message 4 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

How to enable AT command and diagnostic ports and GPS for Sierra Wireless EM7345

Sometimes it’s useful to know what’s going on under the hood. Almost all modern 3G and 4G modules offer an AT command interface to run AT commands.

What can you do using AT commands? To name just a few:

  • Check cellular signal strength
  • Lock your EM7345 to use only 2G, 3G, or 4G if you have such a need
  • Check for some problems, for example if your newly bought EM7345 is SIM-locked to some provider
  • Reboot your EM7345 without rebooting Windows
  • Check what’s wrong if your EM7345 doesn’t connect to a cellular network

Also, the EM7345 includes a fully functional GPS device! With active antennas connected inside your Lenovo laptop!

Unfortunately, out-of-the-box EM7345 comes with only MBIM interface enabled, all AT ports are switched off by default. GPS is also switched off and there are no standard means to enable it! Shame on you Lenovo! Why you restrict us, buyers of your laptops, to use all features and potential of hardware we bought from you? Do you think GPS is not important?

But OK, this is where we come in! To enable AT command port and GPS on your EM7345, do the following:

  • Ensure you’re running Windows 8 or Windows 8.1. Windows 7 can use AT and GPS too, but to enable it, you must be running Windows 8!
  • Ensure you have the latest EM7345 drivers installed from Lenovo website. Download link
  • Ensure your EM7345 is visible in Device Manager with the correct VID/PID identificators. See the picture

Em7345-DM

When the above requirements are met, download and run this file: EM7345_MBIM_ACM

Wait a minute and then check your Device Manager again. You will notice three new devices:

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,270
Message 5 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

  • Sierra Wireless EM7345 AT Port
  • Sierra Wireless EM7345 Trace Port
  • Sierra Wireless GNSS Sensor EM7345 4G LTE

Em7345-GNSS

Congratulations! Now you have fully enabled GPS in your Lenovo laptop ready to work with built-in Windows 8 Maps, also you can make it work with any NMEA-compatible GPS software for Windows. Also you have your AT command ports enabled. Download putty and open your corresponding COM port in putty. In this picture example, my COM port number is COM7:

Em7345-putty

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,266
Message 6 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

And press “Open”.

In the opened window, type:

AT+XGENDATA and press ENTER

You should have a reply from your EM7345:

Congratulations! Your AT port is now working and you can query your EM7345 with AT commands. The above command asks for a device firmware version, it is FIH7160_XMM7160_V1.2_MBIM_GNSS_NAND_REV_4.5 2014-Jun-5 11:54:58 in my case, the latest one.

Em7345-putty2

You can do a lot more things with your EM7345 using AT commands, and in my next posts I will give some more very useful examples.

semy1966
Token Ring
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-25-2015
Location: germany
Views: 66,263
Message 7 of 18

Betreff: Sierra Wireless EM7345

AT commands are very helpful for troubleshooting your device and changing the settings that are not available from standard Windows settings. For example, you can choose the access technology – 2G, 3G, 4G and even stick to particular frequency bands.

EM7345 is using Intel (formerly Infineon) AT command set and it’s not compatible with Quallcomm AT command set. All basic AT commands like AT+CFUN are more or less the same for all 3G/4G devices, but advanced ones, starting from AT+X, are unique to Intel XMM platform devices.

No official documentation for AT commands was released by Intel, all I was able to find is some source code fragments for Samsung phones (that are based on the earlier XMM platform, like XMM 6380, or so)  on GitHub.

To use AT commands, first you have to enable EM7345 AT command port,

There are many cases when your newly installed EM7345 doesn’t work. Let’s start step by step.

AT+CFUN?

should return: +CFUN: 1,0

1 means the device is turned on. If it’s not 1, make sure your EM7345 is turned on in Windows Connection Manager. Or try to turn it on using the AT command:

AT+CFUN=1

Let’s check if the SIM card is working and recognized by the EM7345:

AT+CIMI

should read from your card and display your IMSI number.

Check your SIM card status:

AT+CPIN?

should return: +CPIN: READY. That means your SIM card is properly recognized and no SIM card PIN is required to enter.

Let’s check if your EM7345 is SIM locked:

AT+CLCK=”PN”,2

should return +CLCK: 0

0 means your device is not locked and can work with any SIM card. If it is 1, then bad luck, your EM7345 is SIM locked and will work only with SIM card of the operator it is locked to.

Let’s check which access technology is currently used:

AT+XREG?

returns something like +XREG: 0,8,BAND_LTE_20,0

it means your device is currently using LTE, frequency band 20. For 3G, the band will be BAND_UMTS_I, for example. That means 3G band I. All actual band frequencies you can find in Google.

How to change the access technology?

AT+XACT=n

where n is: 0 – for 2G (EDGE), 1 – for 3G, 2 – for 4G/LTE.

You can also check your current access technology configuration:

AT+XACT?

response: +XACT: 0,0,,900,1800,1900,850,1,2,4,5,8,101,102,103,104,105,107,108,113,117,118,119,120

the first number is n number above. Then come numbers 900,1800,1900,850. Those are bands currently enabled for 2G technology. So the configuration is to use only 2G, and use the above bands. If the band is not listed, it won’t be used by the EM7345. This is very useful when you want to stick to only one access technology and even some particular band. Then we see numbers 1,2,4,5,8. Those are 3G bands. And finally, numbers starting from 101 and up to 120. Those are 4G/LTE bands. 101 means LTE band 1, 102 stands for LTE band 2 and so on.

How do we set the bands? For example to use only LTE band 20, use the following command:

AT+XACT=2,,,120

To stick to LTE  bands 7 and 20, use:

AT+XACT=2,,,107,120

You get the idea.

What about automatic selection of access technologies? For example in some areas where 4G is not avaialble and you want the device to use 3G and then go back to 4G when you’re back  to the coverage? Use this:

AT+XACT=6,2,1,900,1800,1900,850,1,2,4,5,8,101,102,103,104,105,107,108,113,117,118,119,120

That tells your device to use all access technologies and the bands listed in the command (6 number) with the priority of 4G/LTE. This is the default factory EM7345 setting. What 2 and 1 numbers mean I don’t know yet.

If your SIM card seems to be ok, but you cannot get a working connection, try to check for connection errors:

AT+XEER

AT+CEER

AT+NEER

Each of it will get you some text error report if your EM7345 cannot connect to a network.

Your device frozen or you get “1 CDC error”? No need to reboot your laptop, just use:

AT+CFUN=16

This will reboot your EM7345, and it will reappear in Device Manager shortly.

Want to check your EM7345 for internal errors? Use:

AT+XLOG=0

This will list all recorded errors (exceptions). Firmware version 1.1 had some bugs, and every time “1 CDC” error appeared, it got logged and appeared in this list. Since version 1.2 (1415.09) I see no errors in this log.

To clear this list of errors, use:

AT+XLOG=2

 Best Regards from Germany....

Schohei
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-15-2015
Location: United States
Views: 64,468
Message 8 of 18

Re: Sierra Wireless EM7345

What if Windows 7, not 8 or 8.1. My coleague is using Sierra Wireless EM7345 in his T450s with Windows 7.

Guru
Posts: 271
Registered: ‎12-27-2011
Location: GB
Views: 63,791
Message 9 of 18

Re: Sierra Wireless EM7345

Just to add a recent experience:

 

I bought an X250 with the Sierra EM7345 installed. I was planning to do the firmware upgrade procedure, but it turned out that the firmware FIH7160_V1.2_WW_01.1415.07 seemed to be already set up on the EM7345, so I was able to skip that step.

 

Additionally, the GNSS sensor was enabled out-of-the-box. However, the AT port was not. I have Windows 7 pre-installed, and running the EM7345_MBIM_ACM.exe file did enable both these ports as well, but I did have to restart for the AT port to show up (prior to the restart there was an error in device manager stating "this device is not configured correctly" or something along those lines).

 

My plan is to wipe the Windows installation and use the EM7345 from Linux - will post back here if there are any issues accessing the AT port from Linux.

nogatri
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-10-2015
Location: France
Views: 59,071
Message 10 of 18

Re: Sierra Wireless EM7345

Hello Lenovo community

 

I have an experience to share with this EM7345. We are struggling since many months to make it work with a mobility software provided by Orange (connection kit).

 

Contrary to other WWAN modems, this EM7345 has a particular behavior which make it not compliant with our connection kit:

 

A classic WWAN modem works like below with our connection kit:

 

Kit: Pin State?

Device: Pin Needed...

Kit: PIN 1234

Device: OK

Kit:: Pin State? (we do this again to double check it was successful)

Device: OK

 

And with the EM7345 modem:

 

Kit: Pin State?

Device: Pin Needed...

Kit: PIN 1234

Device: OK

Kit: Pin State? (we do this again to double check it was successful)

Device: PIN2 Needed

Kit: Pin State?

Device: PIN2 Needed

 

We don't understand why the modem answers with "PIN2 Needed"

 

 

Do you know what is possible to do for configuring the modem in order this behavior?

 

Any help will be appreciated!

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors