Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
urbanglowcam
Fanfold Paper
Views: 364
Message 1 of 3

Terrible experience with Lenovo

I'm a professional graphic/web designer that has spent a lot of time researching the right notebook for my needs. After debating between the Asus Zenbook Prime, and Samsung Series 9, I actually decided to go through with purchasing the Lenovo X1 Carbon. After waiting months for its release, I was finally able to order the top of the line i5/8GB/256GB model on August 14th. Being the patient person I am, I waited almost exactly a month to receive it on September 13th.

I was really impressed with it until I noticed some issues that shouldn't be present on a premium, top of the line notebook. The screen bezel was protruding in the lower left corner so the wires and adhesive were exposed. The trackpad also feels like it was not screwed tightly and has an annoying vibration with a slight touch. Lastly, the comma key is very difficult to press. Upon further inspection, there seems to be a screw under the key preventing it from being fully pressed. It actually feels like it will break the more I press it.

Unfortunately, these problems were enough to have me send it in for repairs. I took drove out about 35 minutes to the closest auhorized shop that said to bring it in so they could look at it. The technician seemed pretty knowledgeable about the situation yet did not want to touch the machine. He was afraid Lenovo wouldn't cover him for the parts since they would say it was "cosmetic". This really disappointed me and made me think it was useless to even have this service in the first place. It was a waste of time and he just told me to send it in to be safe.