Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
alison01326
Not applicable
Views: 1,486
Message 1 of 7

Unable to install Rescue & Recovery on X201 Think Pad

I have just bought a pre-owned Think Pad X201-3680-FZ2 laptop with Windows 7 professional, and for my own peace of mind wanted to restore it to factory settings before I start using it.

There are no recovery disks so I have downloaded the Rescue & Recovery 4.52 Setup but when I run the programme it gets to a certain point and then I receive the error message Error 25014. There was an error installing the Rescue and Recovery boot manager.  Return code: 6

I have searched for a solution to this problem online, and see that I am not alone, but the responses I find either do not seem to apply to me as the other programmes mentioned are not installed, or I do not understand them.

I am not a computer expert, just a domestic / home office user, so need a solution in very easy to understand terms.  The Think Pad I have came with no instruction manuals, and as far as I can see, all the programmes installed relate to the operation of the Think Pad itself.  There does not seem to be Rescue & Recovery already installed on the ThinkPad.

Does anyone have a solution to this which they could explain to me in simple terms, please?

x220forme
Not applicable
Views: 1,468
Message 2 of 7

Re: Unable to install Rescue & Recovery on X201 Think Pad

H,

is the OS Lenovo preloaded or installed from m$ media/.iso image?
Are there any partitions in the Device Disk Manager except of the system one?

---

edit: sorry for a typo

x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself