English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

8 Posts

01-18-2015

PE

13 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-18-2015
  • Location: PE
  • Views: 96
  • Message 1 of 5

Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for X140e

2015-01-18, 4:29 AM

Hi, would someone please tell me if ThinkPad X140e could work with 16GB (8GB x 2) RAM?  Do you have any suggestions for SODIMM DDR3 1600MHz PC3-12800 1.35Volts 204pin sticks? Thanks!

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

3773 Posts

12-02-2007

US

9020 Signins

187678 Page Views

  • Posts: 3773
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: US
  • Views: 187678
  • Message 2 of 5

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for X140e

2015-01-18, 12:42 PM

Hello,

 

I have 16GB installed in my X140e; it is not officially supported but it works.  I believe I used RAM from either Geil or Patriot.  The X140e is not with me now, though, so I cannot check.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-18-2015

PE

13 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-18-2015
  • Location: PE
  • Views: 96
  • Message 3 of 5

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for X140e

2015-01-18, 19:07 PM

Thanks! I have found one Kingston reseller site that reports up to 16GB capacity and some memory options ((http://goo.gl/r8iWJx)) which are not listed at the manufacturer's company's website as compatible.

There is a user report of success with a Kingston KVR16LS11 with 4GB. Maybe KVR16LS11 8GB module works too (http://goo.gl/AbcMtD).

Do you prefer Patriot for some special reason of compatibility chances?

Thanks again!

Reply
Options

17 Posts

02-01-2015

Toronto

69 Signins

501 Page Views

  • Posts: 17
  • Registered: ‎02-01-2015
  • Location: Toronto
  • Views: 501
  • Message 4 of 5

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for X140e

2015-02-17, 20:42 PM

Hi,

 

I understand that it was answered ealier but there is newer information available and hence putting it up here in case anyone is looking.

 

The Max Capacity is actually 32 GB. It is limited due to non-availability or limited availability of 16 GB Modules.

 

Lenovo Companion itself shows that the Max Capacity of this system is in-fact 32 GB.

 

Check out this post for more details...

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/X140e-Review-and-Upgrade-Information-WLAN-WWAN-Memory-HDD/m-p/2024723

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

8 Posts

01-18-2015

PE

13 Signins

96 Page Views

  • Posts: 8
  • Registered: ‎01-18-2015
  • Location: PE
  • Views: 96
  • Message 5 of 5

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for X140e

2015-02-19, 5:34 AM

Thanks a lot for the link :)
Just writing to report success with Kingston KVR16LS1/8 (8GB module). Hardware testing without errors.

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete