cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Clarlington
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Location: GMWDC
Views: 6,175
Message 1 of 15

Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Can anyone confirm that using more than the official 4Gb max RAM in x120e works?

 

I'm running WIndows 7.

 

I saw one post elsewhere online that 8Gb ("2 x Kingston KVR1066D3S7/4G = 8GB SODIMM DDR3 1066MHz CL7") works, but there was no documentation.

Anastasios
Bit Torrent
Posts: 242
Registered: ‎12-15-2012
Location: US
Views: 6,160
Message 2 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Welcome to the Forum!

 

This has been confirmed many times: x120e definitely supports 8GB of RAM. As a matter of fact, one person even reports installing 16GB of RAM! http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/X-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/X120e-4GB-or-8GB-Max/td-p/413327

I am not sure about 16GB, but if you read the entire thread carefully you will find many confirmations from members and moderators on this Forum that 8GB definitely works without issue in x120e. When people have issues it's because of certain brands of RAM from lower-end manufacturers or some problem with their system board. In that same thread you will find recommendations of many specific manufacturers of 4GB DDR3 RAM which have been confirmed to work smoothly to bring x120e up to 8GB. Use one of the recommended brands and specific model numbers mentioned and you will be OK.

 

Make sure you have Windows 7 64-bit installed to access the full 8GB, as Windows 7 32-bit can only recognize a little over 3GB of RAM.

_________________________________________________________
Have a great day. (I do not work for Lenovo)
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,259
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 6,121
Message 3 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Hello,

 

I had no problem installing 16GB into my X120e.  This is not a configuration officially supported by Lenovo, but it does seem to have been working for over a year with no problems, at least in my unit.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

de.gif Deutsche Community es.gif Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество pt.gif Communidade Portugues
Clarlington
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-11-2013
Location: GMWDC
Views: 6,101
Message 4 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Thanks, this is great news!

 

Sorry for not seeing the other posts on this topic before asking.

 

Can anyone provide details of which 16Gb config worked (specs, brand, etc.)?

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,259
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 6,080
Message 5 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Hello,

 

I used a Patriot Memory PSD316G11600SK 16GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (2X8GB) kit.  It downclocks to the correct speed supported by the X120e.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

de.gif Deutsche Community es.gif Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество pt.gif Communidade Portugues
caretoexplain
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,633
Message 6 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Seriously? I would like to see pictures. I recently brought a x120e.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,259
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 2,577
Message 7 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Hello,

 

I believe the AMD E-350 APU's memory controller is integrated on the CPU die itself and may even support 16GB DDR3L SO-DIMMs, for a total capacity of 32GB RAM.  However, I don't have any spare 16GB DDR3L SO-DIMMs to test with and the machine is about 1,200 miles away from me right now, so it will be some time before photographs are forthcoming.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

de.gif Deutsche Community es.gif Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество pt.gif Communidade Portugues
caretoexplain
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,574
Message 8 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Dude take your time, I would love to see what you have in store for us. Don't take years though. XD.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 3,259
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: US
Views: 2,479
Message 9 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Hello,

 

Apologies for the delay, it was a 1,200 mile (1,800km) drive to reach where the ThinkPad X120e was stored.

 

Unfortunately, I did not have much luck embedding the photos in this message, but I've created an album on imgur.com showing the memory installed in the system planar, how it is detected in the BIOS/UEFI firmware, and how Windows 10 detects it.  The URL for the album is:  https://imgur.com/a/Y5xrC

 

I had thought that the machine had memory from Patriot Memory in it, but when I opened it up, it had two Samsung 8GB DDR3L-1600 (PC3-12800) SO-DIMMS installed.  My X130e might have the Patriot Memory SO-DIMMs in it.

 

There's nothing special you have to do install the memory.  Just make sure you have the latest BIOS/UEFI firmware installed, take your time and use the same precautions you'd use for working on any other computer (grounding strap, etc.).

 

This X120e is running Windows 10 Pro Build 14393 (x74) from an Intel 180GB SSD, and actually feels a little unresponsive, at least compared to the ThinkPad P50 I'm typing this on now.  I may install Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 onto it at a later date to see if that improves system responsiveness.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

de.gif Deutsche Community es.gif Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество pt.gif Communidade Portugues
caretoexplain
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-19-2017
Location: US
Views: 2,410
Message 10 of 15

Re: Unofficial Max RAM Capacity for x120e

Thanks for the follow up. I've recieved my 16gb ram in the mail today. I installed it and it worked! I used the Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3L 1333 MT/s (PC3-10600) CL9 204-Pin SODIMM Memory For Mac CT2K8G3S1339M / CT2C8G3S1339M. And wow no problems so far. It just shows you can install 16 gb on a x120e. I paired that with a 267 Crucial MX300 SSD. It feels like a brand new pc. I wonder how fast it would be if I made it a full fledged linux computer? Probably a lot more faster than it is now. 

 

https://goo.gl/photos/tzxi7hQFMoZsAEK27

 

https://goo.gl/photos/j3TrEqb6sBMjYB1J8

 

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors