English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

7 Posts

07-02-2019

US

14 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 94
  • Message 1 of 9

X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-20, 20:38 PM

So this one is a real puzzler.  We have a dozen or so X1 Carbon Gen6 (and a couple of Gen5 machines) that for some reason do not have the "sleep" option in the start menu.  I went through all the normal troubleshooting for such a situation (checked Control Panel for the tick box that allows it, checked group policy as well).

 

We also updated the BIOS to the latest and greatest (regardless that there wasn't any relesase notes that mention Modern Standby or Sleep).  We also reset to factory defaults (much to our techs' chagrin as they had to do bitlocker recovery) - but same result.

 

I checked that "Connected Standby" was also still enabled in Registry (HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Power "CSEnabled")

 

However, everytime we run powercfg /a - we get this:

    Standby (S0 Low Power Idle)
        The system firmware does not support this standby state.

 

And "Sleep" isn't even an option in the control panel settings area and GPO for Show sleep in the power options menu  has no effect.

 

The tougher factor is that these machines had the setting previously before being re-built with same OS via SCCM (Win 10 1803) - and the hardware didn't change.

 

Anyone else seen their S0 sleep states become unavailable even with updated BIOS/drivers?

Reply
Options

863 Posts

01-04-2018

US

492 Signins

5981 Page Views

  • Posts: 863
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5981
  • Message 2 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-21, 0:04 AM
Right click the battery icon in the task bar and go to power options. On the left, click on "Choose what the power buttons do". From there, there should be an option below (a check box) with "Sleep" next to it, written under it "Show in Power menu". Simply click on "Change Settings that are currently unavailable" up top, and then you can check that box.
Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-02-2019

US

14 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 94
  • Message 3 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-23, 15:00 PM

Thanks for the reply, however when doing this step the option for "Sleep" isn't present on the screen and even the drop down for "When I close the Lid" is blank.  I'm also thinking this is a larger thing since we also have a Desktop with the same issue (P330 ThinkStation).

 

Reply
Options

863 Posts

01-04-2018

US

492 Signins

5981 Page Views

  • Posts: 863
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5981
  • Message 4 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-23, 18:07 PM
Thanks for the image, it's a weird situation. Open up Device Manager and go to "Display Adapters". Choose the video card that Windows runs on (probably the only video card there), go to the "Driver" tab and Roll Back the driver if possible. If not, completely uninstall it. Once done, restart and check again if the sleep option is there.
Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-02-2019

US

14 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 94
  • Message 5 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-24, 15:19 PM

Thanks again for the assistance.

 

Sadly this did not make a difference.

 

I do think it might be a GPO however, as I unjoined some of the machiens from the domain and after reboot, the sleep option came back.

 

Going to have to do a line by line compare since something must have changed to cause it to hide the sleep option despite it being enabled everywhere else.

 

 

Reply
Options

863 Posts

01-04-2018

US

492 Signins

5981 Page Views

  • Posts: 863
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5981
  • Message 6 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-24, 15:32 PM
Glad you could find the root of the issue! Good luck solving it.
Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-02-2019

US

14 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 94
  • Message 7 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-24, 20:47 PM

Spoke too soon!  The result I got when removing GPO was actually that S3 got re-enabled (we disable as part of MBAM/Bitlocker policies) but the S0 is still in a 'disabled' state.

 

Any other thoughts?

 

 

 

Reply
Options

863 Posts

01-04-2018

US

492 Signins

5981 Page Views

  • Posts: 863
  • Registered: ‎01-04-2018
  • Location: US
  • Views: 5981
  • Message 8 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-24, 21:01 PM
I see. I don't have SCCM, but it should come with it's own personal power configuration - Called "SCCM Power Management". If you can locate that, it should have some sleep options in there.

If the sleep options aren't available there or you can't find it, my last assumption is that sleep mode died somehow. The murder of the century. Instead of factory resetting, try reinstalling another version of Windows:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

^There should be an installation tool.
Reply
Options

7 Posts

07-02-2019

US

14 Signins

94 Page Views

  • Posts: 7
  • Registered: ‎07-02-2019
  • Location: US
  • Views: 94
  • Message 9 of 9

Re: X1 Carbon 5th Gen and X1 Carbon 6th Gen (20KG) - both 'lost' S0 Sleep State

2019-09-24, 21:34 PM

We're on the same wavelength it seems.  I had just downloaded the Win10 1903 USB creation tool and am installing now on one of the impacted machines.

 

I'll see how it goes with that and report back.

 

This test would also rule out SCCM (if it fails) since it'd be a completely isolated machine from our infrastructure (not AD joined etc).

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete