English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

31 Posts

01-22-2014

United States

26 Signins

204 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 204
  • Message 1 of 19

X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-01-22, 15:47 PM

The little LED on the shift key sometimes is on but Caps Lock is not on (all keys still in lower case). This is always the case when I log on freshly.  pressing Shift two times to enable Caps Lock (screen indicator comes on, ALL CAPS NOW) and pressing it two times again turns off Caps Lock as well as the LED indicator.  But sometimes it still behaves eradically.

 

Any software update on this?

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

18 Posts

01-14-2011

US

83 Signins

378 Page Views

  • Posts: 18
  • Registered: ‎01-14-2011
  • Location: US
  • Views: 378
  • Message 2 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-01-22, 23:07 PM
I've noticed that too - so I turn it "off" but really I'm just turning it on, then have to turn it off for real.
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-07-2012

Bratislava

24 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-07-2012
  • Location: Bratislava
  • Views: 374
  • Message 3 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-02-26, 15:22 PM

Hi folks,

 

this seems to be happening right after a restart.

 

Try this as a workaround:

- press Windows button + C

- click Settings

- click Change PC settings

- go PC and Devices

- go Typing

- switch 'Use all uppercase letters when I double-tap Shift' to Off

- restart

 

Let me know if it has worked for you.

*
* There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who can read binary, and those who can't *
*
Reply
Options

31 Posts

01-22-2014

United States

26 Signins

204 Page Views

  • Posts: 31
  • Registered: ‎01-22-2014
  • Location: United States
  • Views: 204
  • Message 4 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-02-26, 18:05 PM

sorry, that was not it -- mine was already off. I also turned it on, rebooted, turned it off, rebooted -- no change. :(

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-27-2014

Australia

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 26
  • Message 5 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-02-27, 10:08 AM
I have the same issue here. Has anyone heard from support as to why it keeps coming on?
It will do it at random for me. I too end up turning caps lock on and off again just to get the light off, but then I look down after a while and see it's on again.

Really annoying!
Reply
Options

4 Posts

08-07-2012

Bratislava

24 Signins

374 Page Views

  • Posts: 4
  • Registered: ‎08-07-2012
  • Location: Bratislava
  • Views: 374
  • Message 6 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-03-03, 13:21 PM

Hello,

 

would you please be so kind and confirm your OS version?

 

Win 7/8/8.1; x/Pro ; 32b/64b.

 

Thank you

*
* There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who can read binary, and those who can't *
*
Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-27-2014

Australia

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 26
  • Message 7 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-03-03, 13:31 PM

Windows 8.1 Pro here. Thanks

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-27-2014

Australia

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 26
  • Message 8 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-03-03, 13:33 PM
64 bit, forgot to add that
Reply
Options

9 Posts

02-03-2014

US

13 Signins

124 Page Views

  • Posts: 9
  • Registered: ‎02-03-2014
  • Location: US
  • Views: 124
  • Message 9 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-03-03, 13:37 PM

Hi Yosh,

 

I tried your solution and it worked... thanks a ton!!

Reply
Options

5 Posts

02-27-2014

Australia

4 Signins

26 Page Views

  • Posts: 5
  • Registered: ‎02-27-2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 26
  • Message 10 of 19

Re: X1 Carbon Caps Lock Indicator

2014-03-03, 13:40 PM
No luck here with mine, I have it set to off also.

I have lodged a support request with Lenovo, perhaps it is a faulty device
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete