cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Highlighted
Takeda
HDMI
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Location: US
Views: 219
Message 1 of 12

X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

A friend of mine is getting a Run time error 217  at 00B29DBC  when it boots up.

 

Any idea what might be causing this?

 

Thank you!

Lenovo Employee Vmax100K
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎05-22-2019
Location: CN
Views: 188
Message 2 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

HI ,May I get a screenshot for this error ?

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 3,322
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 185
Message 3 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

Also check the time/date and regional settings of the computer, and if they check out try running a SFC Scan to to check for corrupt or missing system files.

 

You might also try disabling startup items, and if one of those resolves the problem, and look at programs that launch early such as AV programs too.      A good virus scan would not be a bad idea either. 

 

In my experience, a Run time errors are often caused by a missing, unregistered or incorrect version of .dll files used by C++ applications etc. such as Msvcrt.dll.

 

 

Cheers,

 

 

Takeda
HDMI
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Location: US
Views: 174
Message 4 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

 
Takeda
HDMI
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Location: US
Views: 172
Message 5 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

Thank you I will try your suggestions.

JDGillis
Bit Torrent
Posts: 3,322
Registered: ‎12-11-2015
Location: US
Views: 160
Message 6 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

The blue & yellow shield (sigh..I should know what that is, antivirus perhaps?) in the taskbar appears to be highlighted/activated, so it could be the source of the problem, and may need to be reinstalled 

Takeda
HDMI
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Location: US
Views: 156
Message 7 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

Thank you! I will try that. The ACS program was uninstalled, I don't know why it is showing up.

Lenovo Employee Vmax100K
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎05-22-2019
Location: CN
Views: 123
Message 8 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

Looks like that error by ACS app. If it is unknow APP . Please uninstall it and run a safe scan check .

Takeda
HDMI
Posts: 180
Registered: ‎06-17-2010
Location: US
Views: 121
Message 9 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

Thank you! ACS has been uninstalled, I don't know why it's showing up on bootup.

Lenovo Employee Vmax100K
Lenovo Employee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎05-22-2019
Location: CN
Views: 105
Message 10 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

HI ,Please open Task Manager-> Startup  option->  Disable that ACS app if still exist in startup list after uninstall it  . 

And we're back...

Move delayed but still coming

Learn More

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors