English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 1 of 12

X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 0:55 AM

A friend of mine is getting a Run time error 217  at 00B29DBC  when it boots up.

 

Any idea what might be causing this?

 

Thank you!

Solved! See the solution
Reply
Options

126 Posts

05-22-2019

CN

181 Signins

1839 Page Views

  • Posts: 126
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2019
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 1839
  • Message 2 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 6:57 AM

HI ,May I get a screenshot for this error ?

Reply
Options

3243 Posts

12-11-2015

US

4136 Signins

45642 Page Views

  • Posts: 3243
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 45642
  • Message 3 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 7:13 AM

Also check the time/date and regional settings of the computer, and if they check out try running a SFC Scan to to check for corrupt or missing system files.

 

You might also try disabling startup items, and if one of those resolves the problem, and look at programs that launch early such as AV programs too.      A good virus scan would not be a bad idea either. 

 

In my experience, a Run time errors are often caused by a missing, unregistered or incorrect version of .dll files used by C++ applications etc. such as Msvcrt.dll.

 

 

Cheers,

 

 

Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 4 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 11:11 AM
Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 5 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 11:13 AM

Thank you I will try your suggestions.

Reply
Options

3243 Posts

12-11-2015

US

4136 Signins

45642 Page Views

  • Posts: 3243
  • Registered: ‎12-11-2015
  • Location: US
  • Views: 45642
  • Message 6 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 11:40 AM

The blue & yellow shield (sigh..I should know what that is, antivirus perhaps?) in the taskbar appears to be highlighted/activated, so it could be the source of the problem, and may need to be reinstalled 

Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 7 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-02, 11:46 AM

Thank you! I will try that. The ACS program was uninstalled, I don't know why it is showing up.

Reply
Options

126 Posts

05-22-2019

CN

181 Signins

1839 Page Views

  • Posts: 126
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2019
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 1839
  • Message 8 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-03, 10:01 AM

Looks like that error by ACS app. If it is unknow APP . Please uninstall it and run a safe scan check .

Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 9 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-03, 11:12 AM

Thank you! ACS has been uninstalled, I don't know why it's showing up on bootup.

Reply
Options

126 Posts

05-22-2019

CN

181 Signins

1839 Page Views

  • Posts: 126
  • Registered: ‎05-22-2019
  • Location: CN
  • Views: 1839
  • Message 10 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-04, 1:29 AM

HI ,Please open Task Manager-> Startup  option->  Disable that ACS app if still exist in startup list after uninstall it  . 

0 person found this solution to be helpful.

This helped me too

Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 11 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-04, 2:29 AM

Thank you! It will probably be Saturday when I see my friend with the X1 Carbon to try your suggestion! I'll report back when I try this.

 

Reply
Options

181 Posts

06-17-2010

US

1234 Signins

9012 Page Views

  • Posts: 181
  • Registered: ‎06-17-2010
  • Location: US
  • Views: 9012
  • Message 12 of 12

Re: X1 Carbon Gen1 (20BS) Run Time Error

2019-07-07, 0:27 AM

Removing ACS from the startup list elimintaed the Run time error! Thank you all for your suggestions!

 

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save