cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
josj
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2014
Location: Sweden
Views: 20,584
Message 11 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Is it possible to use two external monitors at 2560*1440, with one connected to the X1's mini displayport and one connected to onelink pro dock?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 20,518
Message 12 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

@josj,

Yes that is possible. If your LCD has HDMI 1.4 input, you can output the 2 x 2560x1440 using the laptop's miniDP and HDMI port.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/lead_org/13510754783/
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
josj
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2014
Location: Sweden
Views: 20,510
Message 13 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Thank you. I am currently running 2x 2560x1440 using the internal mini DP and the Onelink Pro's DP.

I also tried daisy-chaining the two monitors (Philips 272P) to the Onelink Pro's DP, but i could not get the displays to show up as separate devices in Windows, I am only seeing the same image on both. But it works OK as it is, I just have to connect one more cable.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 20,504
Message 14 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

OneLink Pro's dock is not a Displayport 1.2 port, so daisy chaining won't work.

Have you used windows display property to set the different display to extend the image?

Also have you tried to update the drivers using thinkvantage power manager?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
josj
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-06-2014
Location: Sweden
Views: 20,495
Message 15 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Yeah, it's not a big issue not being able to use daisy chain, but as I understand this, it should have DP 1.2 http://support.lenovo.com/en_SE/product-and-parts/detail.page?&DocID=PD029981

 

Desktop extension works fine when I use two different displayports, it is just when I use daisy chain that they only appear as one display in the display properties.

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 20,483
Message 16 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

The DVI and the DP port on the ThinkPad OneLink Pro dock actually runs from a DP passthrough port. This is why if you have the DP on the OneLink Pro dock running more than 1920x1200 resolution, i.e. 2560x1440, the DVI won't work.

Basically, the OneLink Pro dock is a Displayport MST hub, which receives the DP 1.2 signal and splits the video signal to enable the use of DP and DVI port on the dock.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
nzkunal
Paper Tape
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎06-13-2014
Views: 20,330
Message 17 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

I cant get max resolution (1440p) on X1 carbon (3443CTO) and Dell U2713HM. I am going through to the dual link DVI port on the monitor and have updated all drivers. 

 

Reading posts on this forum suggests that the Intel HD 4000 driver used by the X1 carbon should support 1440p?

 

 

The_Pope
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Location: London, UK
Views: 20,219
Message 18 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hi Jin,

 

I've tried SO hard to figure this out myself but I'm afraid I need to defer to your superior skills. I have an X1 Carbon with the 1440p laptop screen. I also have two 27 inch 1440p external monitors, and I'm desperate to get all three to work at native resolution as you have.

 

One monitor works fine - mini-DP to DP, but the second external monitor via HDMI gets no signal and isn't detected by the graphics options. I have the USB 3.0 dock with its awful 2k down-sampled max. resolution via DVI.

I have a brand-new HDMI to DP cable, which surely isn't duff out of the box...? I will try later with a pure HDMI monitor and HDMI cable, but any ideas please?

Thanks so much!

Geoff

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 20,211
Message 19 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

@nzkunal, the X1 Carbon first gen (which is the one you have) will support 1440p using the miniDP on the laptop.

@the_pope. your problem is with the hdmi to dp cable. you need to get hdmi to hdmi to work. The HDMI to DP method you are trying won't work. Your LCD doesn't have HDMI 1.4 in?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
The_Pope
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Location: London, UK
Views: 20,206
Message 20 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Wow, thanks for the quick reply.

No: the monitor is DP and DVI only. Would it work HDMI cable with a DVI adapter on the end? I have one at home I can try tomorrow.

Any idea why it "needs" to be HDMI-to-HDMI to work?

Holiday Deals
HAPPENING NOW!

Get the best deals on PCs and tech now during the Holiday Sale
Shop the sale

Top Kudoed Authors