cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
The_Pope
Paper Tape
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎07-10-2014
Location: London, UK
Views: 5,082
Message 31 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

I'm sorry that you haven't had a good experience. I don't know if the key difference is that you want 2560x1600, but I can tell you that I'm able to run two 2560x1440 external monitors in addition to the laptop's own 2560x1440 display. I wouldn't've expected that 1600p was that different to 1440p but you tell me.

For reference, the only way it works is to run one 27" off the dock (via full-DP) and the second 27" directly from the laptop via mini-DP. I see that you tried that; I can't help with blank screens Smiley Sad


c1230
Paper Tape
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-08-2014
Location: USA
Views: 4,912
Message 32 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hi JIn,

 

I got X1C earlier this year and woud like to run 2 external monitors at 2560x1440 plus orginal one.

 

I have a Belkin USB 3.0 Dual Video Dock and a 28" Dell P2815Q. The second montior is a 22" which needs to be replaced. For now the maximum I can get out of Dell P2815Q is 2048*1152 by using DP through the Dock (connected to X1C by USB3.0). This monitor supposes to support 3840*2160 but only at 30Hz. I got serious mouse lagging issue with thins monitor so I am thinking to return it.

 

My question is how can I connect to two 2560*1440 monitors with this Dock? As for the montiors do they need to have either DP1.2 or HDMI 1.4 to make it work?

 

Much appreciated for your help.

 

Belkin Dock

http://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-B2B044/

Dell P2815Q

http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&l=en&s=dhs&cs=19&sku=210-ACHO&baynote_bnr...

mfitzsousa
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-31-2015
Location: United States
Views: 4,010
Message 33 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hi Jin -- what are you using to connect the X1 Carbon to the iMac? I am looking to use my iMac as an external monitor for the X

TXTIM
What's DOS?
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-31-2015
Location: San Antonio TX USA
Views: 4,004
Message 34 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

I have a SEIKI SE39UY04 4K monitor that I know will display 4k at 30 Hz from a Mac using HDMI 1.4.  

 

My X1C with Intel HD 5500 has an HDMI 1.4 port, but 1920x1080 is the only resolution my machine will output.  I have updated the BIOS and re-installed the Intel graphics driver from Lenovo's site.

 

The monitor sees the input as DVI.  This is a machine problem since others with Intel 5500 have no problem.

 

Is there a fix?

 

Does the mDP 1.2 port resolve this problem?

lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 3,992
Message 35 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Don't have this particular monitor, but my X1 Carbon Gen 3 works perfectly on HDMI and mDP with 4k resolution.

 

PS. i am using the iMac 27 (not the 5K version) in the targeted monitor mode. So mDP to mDP cable is required. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
carbonx1user
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-10-2016
Location: Korea
Views: 3,725
Message 36 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

I own X1 Carbon 3rd Gen, and have an exact same problem. Updated driver,etc. for Intel HD5500 but external resolution is only up to 1920x1080 MAX.
Tried using the same monitor (Dell U2715) with Thinkpad X230, and was able to go up to 2048 x 1152 just fine.

Were you finally able to resolve your problem? Dell support has not been very helpful so far...
mogal1
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-13-2017
Location: AU
Views: 3,079
Message 37 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hi Jin,

 

I was wondering if you could help me out RE a resolution issue:

 

I have a 1st gen x1 carbon (3443-cto) which has an Intel HD 4000 IGP. I have connected it to a dell U2713H monitor (native res 2560x1440) using a belkin Mini DP to HDMI cable. The max resolution selectable under the Intel HD graphics control panel is currently 1920x1080, I then tried creating a custom native res of 2560x1440 @ 60Hz but I keep getting the following error ‘the custom resolution exceeds the maximum bandwidth capacity’.

 

The U2713H was previously connected via my desktop PC via a HDMI-HDMI cable & it worked fine under its native res. So by power of deduction it must be either the belkin cable or the x1 carbon, but I’ve read on this thread that the Dell’s native res is achievable using the HD 4000 IGP..

 

Do I need to use a mini DP to DP / mini DP port to fix this issue? Or is there something else I’m missing here?

 

Your help would be much appreciated!

 

FYI - I am using intel HD graphics driver ver 10.18.19.4425.

 

Cheers,

 

Matt

Amirg
Paper Tape
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-10-2017
Location: CH
Views: 2,789
Message 38 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hello everybody,

I have a very unpleasant problem with my X1 Carbon.

I get a very bad picture (blurry, diffused, faint) when I connect it to an external monitors, regardless of the type.

I have updated the drivers, but it seems not to help at all.

I am trying it now with an LG monitors (29UM68) connected directly to my laptop over an HDMI cable.

I can set the right resolution, but the picture remains diffused and blurry.

What should I do now?

 

Regards,

Amir

Razvan_B
What's DOS?
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-09-2018
Location: RO
Views: 66
Message 39 of 39

Re: X1 Carbon - Maximum Resolution for External Display

Hello

 

Not sure if this is still active post as the technology evolves and maybe this laptopos are a bit old but I received one from my company and trying to set it up ..not much succes:

Laptop Lenovo X1 carbon 2'nd generation A08...

Dock Lenovo Thinkpad One Link Pro

2x monitors Lenovo L24q-10

 

What i'm trying to achieve is to have 2 monitors with proper resolution, laptop lid closed conected to the dock. Proper resolution for the monitors seems to be 2560 x 1440

I conected M1 via HDMI cable to dock DVI port with an HDMI to DVI adapter. Resolution 2560 x 1440

I conected M2 via HDMI-DisplayPort cable to DisplayPort on dock. It comes with 1024 x 768 resolution

 

Updated graphics driver for laptop, updated dock firmware, updated laptop BIOS. Could not update dock driver as i get an error message.

 

Any aditional tips would be wellcomed.

Thanks

Holiday Deals
HAPPENING NOW!

Get the best deals on PCs and tech now during the Holiday Sale
Shop the sale

Top Kudoed Authors