cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,681
Message 1 of 13

X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

So, I've searched and read. Gone deep into back pages for any subsantive clue as to what to do.

Nothing concrete.

 

Work sent me an X1 gen 4 i7 16 gig ram 500 gig SSD HD w 1040 screen.

It's perfect for my mobile needs.

 

Except I somehow got one with the 128 gig SSD which is quickly gettng eaten up

before I even use it.

 

So, I found a killer deal on a Samsung 950 Pro 512 gig PCIe NVMe SSD.

Perfect. Last years model. It doesn't matter. It's still wicked fast.

 

Now I need to clone the proprietary software from the 128 gig sata M.2 SSD

to the Samsung M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD.

I downloaded Macrium Reflect and

got an M.2 enclosure.

 

The Samsung won't go in the socket of the enclosure.

It just does not slot in.

 

I took the 128 gig drive out of the X1 and tried it in the enclosure. It fits. I can see and open the folders.

I put the 512 gig Samsung SSD in the X1. It fits.

According to the Lenovo specs page for Carbon X1 4th gen currently published:

Storage | Up to 512 GB PCIe NVMe SSD

So this will work. And according others it does.

But...

 

Now what?

I can't boot off of the original drive while it's in the enclosure.

I searched for an enclosure for the Samsung. Unobtainium.

 

Some have said they just did a clean install.

I can't because of all this enterprise stuff that

I will lose if I do.

I really just need to clone it and call it a day.

I would send it back but I had to beg for this as it is.

 

Macrium Reflect seems to be designed around cloning from a PC to an outside source.

Am I dreaming that it doesn't want to work the other way?

 

 

 

So,

How do I clone if the new M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD only fits in the X1 4th gen laptop

and

the m.2 sata SSD with the operating system and programs fit's in an enclosure.

 

Thank you

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,634
Message 2 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

So,

 

Not a single answer?

 

Perhaps because the only way to do this is with a modern desktop PC with

a PCIe card that accepts M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD like this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/like/172252881348?lpid=82&chn=ps&ul_noapp=true

I have to use somebody elses computer to do this.

Clone from one drive to the other and move on.

 

I dont have any friends with PC's. Everybody has Mac's. Macbooks laptops.

Everywhere.

 

Perhaps the question is,

How would I back up my X1 so that I could replace it if it were destroyed

or just quit working but the SSD was OK.

Some would say just put the SSD in the replacement laptop.

But that's not the real answer.

 

Let's say the broken laptop SSD was an older SATA SSD. It wont fit in a modern laptop.

How would I make and keep a clone to be able to put it back into any modern laptop

given that I want an exact copy of the OS and all files and programs.

I don't care what's on the new laptops SSD.

 

 

Thank you for any advise.

I've read through the threads here and wasn't seeing an answer.

 

 

 

 

 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,994
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,615
Message 3 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

Hello and welcome,

 

I don't quite understand where the problem comes in.

 

I concur that there don't seem to be any NMVe-compatible external enclosures ATM, but it's generally considered that with ThinkPads it's best to have the clone target installed in the laptop anyway.

 

Use a bootable version of Macrium (or other cloning software - I have no experience with Macrium but I use Acronis) on a flash drive and clone away.

 

I do external backups as compressed images - not clones - to most any external media.  Recovery to a new SSD is with the imaging software booted via flash.  You could also clone to some external-enclosure-compatible drive and use that for a backup.  You'd have to clone _that_ to a newly installed SSD.

 

If you can stand to reload your data and software, make a recovery flash drive and use it to restore an OOBE Windows image to the new SSD.

 

Does any of that seem like a way to go?

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Moto English

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,608
Message 4 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

Z,

 

Thank you for that. 

Im a noob on this particular 

aspect of computers. 

 

My expertise is VoIP. 

I find it hard to believe but

this had never crossed my desk. 

And now that it has I'm trying to learn. 

As many have said there are a myriad of ways to achieve the same end result. 

If this was a consumer centric 

issue I would have just done a reinstall as a kind of forced trash day to clear out the clutter. 

 

But its not. I have to do a clone or send it off to corporate and hope I get it back. 

I got lucky with this by shopping hard within their limits. 

 

The fact that NVMe enclosures are unobtainium will change. 

Not yet though. 

 

Im going try again with the original drive in an enclosure

and the new drive in the X1.  

I made a Windows PE bootable 

thumb drive with Macrium. 

 

Macrium basic is free and I get it. 

Acronis may be where I go next 

if run into a brick wall. 

 

If if I get this sorted I will post a step by step for dummies like me to possibly help others in the future. 

This is all confusing, scary, and is irreversible if you do something wrong. 

 

 

Thank you

 

 

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,547
Message 5 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

So,

 

Macrium Reflect. Trial version:

 

The environment in the PE flash boot is so Windows NT looking.

And you can't move anything around. Nothing.

I think the buttons that allow you to do anything are in a part of

the window I can't get to.

This is after going through all the proper steps a few times to make sure it wasn't me.

And googling my problems.

 

Acronis True Image 2017 Trial version:

 

All my research kind of pointed here as one of the best.

And it really is well done.

The PE flash boot is very clean and easy to use.

After going through all the proper steps, I get to the point of

doing the actual clone and

 

Nope. Gotta pay for it.

So now what?

Pay for it and call it a day? Likely.

 

Why is this so hard to do?

I can't believe how much time I've wasted on this.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,994
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,537
Message 6 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

"Now I need to clone the proprietary software..." are you referring to software provided by your employer?  Can you get your hands on the install media?

 

If you have the option of reloading the required software, skip the clone hassles.  Make a recovery flash drive, install the new SSD, recover to it.  Install the software.

 

Don't know what else to suggest.  As I said, I haven't used Macrium but several members here say they've used the free version with success.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Moto English

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,490
Message 7 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

Z,

 

Concerning Macrium:

I ran ran into a problem being able to get to the buttons below 

th image selection area. 

 

Just from searching it appears to be a common problem with Macrium. 

And I can't find any options to resize the screen. 

Its very frustrating. If I grab the window and try to push it up into the netherworld above the screen I can just see the top of some buttons. 

But as soon as I let go they pop away out of reach. 

I need a virtual door stop so I can inch that part of the window into view on the desktop. 

 

I'm about ready to throw my hands in the air and go play in

a different sandbox. 

Non of my friends or co workers 

have ever done anything like this. Which is odd but I guess a sign of the disposability of PC's. 

 

J

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,481
Message 8 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

Z,

 

On thinking about this further,

you're correct.  

I should just get all the install media and reload.

 

My only fear is personal. 

Since I'm going to have to send it back to let our desktop people "properly install any software" I have no idea if it will come back at all. 

I fought tooth and nail to get it after an endless parade of 5 year old celeron $200 craptops. 

I think they were getting peeved

because something would go wrong on this or that. Well, they were old and cheap. 

 

My last decent unit was a

Thinkpad T400

that was old when I got it. But,

that thing is still in good if not perfect shape. It just ran out of gas for modern software. 

I use it for some the old software that is unobtanium

and only works on XP or NT. 

 

And now my gut is telling me don't let it out of your sight. 

Hoochp
Fanfold Paper
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-29-2017
Location: US
Views: 1,452
Message 9 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

Well, my saga continues into a new chapter of mayhem. 

I was finally able to get the drive cloned. 

I did end up buying a subscription for Acronis. 

It is really very easy to use.

You can use it in dummies mode or get really deep into what your doing. 

I had a question for customer service at 9pm and had a chat session going within a couple minutes. I wasn't expecting that. 

He was very helpful. 

 

I went ahead and tried to use to use a backup and migrate to the new disk. It got real close but the patroons were the same and  I was trying for bigger. 

 

So so I tried the clone again and got the same errors. 

Then I thought, what the heck, I'll let it try and repair its seitself. 

Thag did it. 

 

I had my larger drive with larger partition. Yay. But....

 

What am I seeing. Its saying the drive is a samsung pm951. 

Not a 950 pro that I thought I bought. 

I ran crystal disk mark and info to verify everything. 

Sure enough. It's slower than it should be and it's IDing as a samsung PM951 which is the OEM samsung Lenovo 512 gig drive. 

Im taking it back. Somebody pulled a fast one and switched the label on the drive and returned it. 

Ive been struggling with this for 3 1/2 weeks. 

Now I know why Samsung Magician was not offering much 

help either. 

I've  learned a lot so it wasn't a total waste. 

 

John

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 6,994
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: US
Views: 1,445
Message 10 of 13

Re: X1 Carbon gen 4 PCIe NVMe SSD upgrade problem

I saw something similar - new drive reported as old - after cloning a SATA m.2 drive on one of my tablets.  Different manufacturers, so not likely a fake or bogus label.  Speed wasn't affected.

 

I never did figure out whether it had something to do with the clone OP or was a quirk of the particular UEFI BIOS, or something else.

 

Have you asked Acronis about this?

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.


The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored - questions and answers belong in the forum so that others may contribute and benefit. ... GeezBlog

 

  Communities:   English    Deutsch    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Polski    Moto English

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors