Options

2 Posts

02-04-2019

US

3 Signins

54 Page Views

• Views: 54
  • Message 1 of 4

X1 Extreme Motherboard Failure. Service Failure.

2019-02-04, 18:10 PM

I received my X1 Extreme DUS varient on the 27th of december. Less than two weeks later it was dead. 

I'm a commercial photographer. It blue screened and refused to start in the middle of editing. It wouldn't boot back up. Blue screens would happen moments after it tried to start. Even USB copies of the windows installer would blue screen. By 2am I was at a walmart buying another computer so I could get the photos to my client.

That's fine I thought. This is a lenovo. They'll help me. 

Call after call I had trouble.

We'll have a technician out.

The part is on its way!

wait didn't the last guy tell you there are no motherboards anywhere? 

Don't worry it'll be a couple days. 

Yeah we'll need to escalate you. We don't have parts. We'll have someone contact you in a few days.

Fast forward. This is after several days working with normal tech support. Crystal the Escalation manager at IBM gets ahold of me. By this point it's the 17th. She almost immidiately tells me I need to be escalated again to get a replacement computer and that I would be contacted shortly. 

I check in five days later. I finally hear from crystal on the 22nd. 
This is a copy paste: 
GOOD  MOORNING
I CURRENTLY WAITING FOR AN UPDATE THE CASE HAS NOT BEEN ASSIGNED YET

I'm finally contacted by Marlon the next day. This is mercifully a quick call. ok I need this and this and this. They'll have to order my machine from CDW. It's going to be a QUS variant but everything appears to be the same as the DUS. 

four days later. I get an email from marlon showing they've finally placed the order with CDW. 

I've heard nothing since. We're now into February. It's been more than a week since I've heard from anyone and all attepts to contact marlon have failed. 

I have an extremely expensive paperweight. 

Options

22 Posts

12-25-2018

US