Welcome to our peer-to-peer forums, where owners help owners. Need help now? Visit eSupport here.

English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

12 Posts

01-24-2012

Athens

7 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2012
  • Location: Athens
  • Views: 43
  • Message 1 of 8

X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-24, 19:57 PM

Hello everyone.

 

I really love my thinkpad and I had a great experience while on the default WD Scorpio HDD, but I have just installed the Vertex 2 and get nothing but probs..

 

Here are the drivers I'm using:

 

  • AMD Catalyst from the Lenovo Site
  • Wifi
  • Sound
  • Camera
  • LAN
  • Ultranav

And just installed the AHCI driver from the AMD driver as well. I was getting BSODS after waking from sleep before but haven't tried yet after installing the driver.

 

Should I replace the OCZ with the Intel X-25m? I never really had any problems with that one. What I'm actually experiencing with the vertex 2, is latency..

 

Please let me know your suggestions.

 

Thanks!

 

Reply
Options

88 Posts

03-11-2011

USA

1314 Signins

2332 Page Views

  • Posts: 88
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2332
  • Message 2 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-24, 20:32 PM
Have you updated the firmware of the Vertex 2? I recall there being a number of firmware updates to address similar issues.
Reply
Options

575 Posts

03-20-2011

Canada

7411 Signins

12474 Page Views

  • Posts: 575
  • Registered: ‎03-20-2011
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 12474
  • Message 3 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-24, 22:23 PM
I had a Vertex2 240gb in my X120e for the couple months I had it, worked fine without issues or BSOD's.

Still using the Vertex2 in my X220.
---------------------
| X220 i7-2620M | 12.5" HD IPS | Intel 180GB SSD | Crucial 480GB mSATA SSD | 8GB DDR3 | Intel 7260 AC |
| X260 i7-6600U | 12.5" FHD IPS | Samsung 860Pro 512GB SSD | 16GB DDR4 | Intel 8260 AC |
Reply
Options

12 Posts

01-24-2012

Athens

7 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2012
  • Location: Athens
  • Views: 43
  • Message 4 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-25, 16:58 PM

Maybe I need to install all this stuff as well?

 

http://imageshack.us/f/710/x120e.png/

 

Also, Should I download the AMD Catalyst from the Lenovo or the AMD site?

 

Thx.

Reply
Options

88 Posts

03-11-2011

USA

1314 Signins

2332 Page Views

  • Posts: 88
  • Registered: ‎03-11-2011
  • Location: USA
  • Views: 2332
  • Message 5 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-25, 20:43 PM
In theory, none of that should need to be installed unless you're experiencing issues. I can't see anything in that list that would really need any updates, but it can't really hurt at this point.

As for Catalyst, doesn't matter. If you want the most up-to-date, go with AMD; otherwise just grab whatever Lenovo throws out.
Reply
Options

9644 Posts

12-27-2009

Canada

3313 Signins

95283 Page Views

  • Posts: 9644
  • Registered: ‎12-27-2009
  • Location: Canada
  • Views: 95283
  • Message 6 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-25, 22:33 PM
Doesn't one need to tweak the Link-State Power Management so the SSD doesn't cause BSODs all the time?

W520: 2960XM, Q2000M @ 1091/1380, 32GB RAM, 500GB&750GB HDD & 500GB SSD, FHD&MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 64GB SD card, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Reply
Options

4139 Posts

12-02-2007

United States of America

9127 Signins

196168 Page Views

  • Posts: 4139
  • Registered: ‎12-02-2007
  • Location: United States of America
  • Views: 196168
  • Message 7 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-26, 8:40 AM

Hello,

 

Which version of Microsoft Windows was installed onto the 60GB Vertex 2 SSD, and how was it installed?

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee.

L380 YogaP72 (20MB-*)P50 (20EN-*)S230u (3347-4HU)T23 (2648-LU7)T42 (2378-R4U)T43p (2678-H7U)T61p (6459-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)X220 (4286-CTO)X250 (20CM-*)Yoga 370

  Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Português    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Język Polski    Moto English


Need an answer, fast? Try using Browser Search to find it in the Lenovo and Moto Community
Reply
Options

12 Posts

01-24-2012

Athens

7 Signins

43 Page Views

  • Posts: 12
  • Registered: ‎01-24-2012
  • Location: Athens
  • Views: 43
  • Message 8 of 8

Re: X120e Vertex 2 60gb

2012-01-29, 7:43 AM

Clean win 7 64 bit installation and downloaded AMD AHCI from AMD site. This thing is a joke. Huge lag everywhere.. I've already ordered a x-25m..

Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete

X

No, I don’t want to share ideas Yes, I agree to these terms