Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Welcome to the Lenovo Community

Welcome to the Forums!

Welcome to Lenovo's Peer-to-Peer Discussion Community!
Please note our guidelines. How to register and login and Community FAQs.
Shape the Future of PCs

Help Lenovo Shape the Future of PCs

Take the ownership survey. Share your ideas with our product team
Reply
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Location: UK
0 Kudos
Accepted Solution

X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

[ Edited ]

My 5-day-old X121E display suddenly went unreadable, splitting itslef into small blinking horizontal bars.

 

2nd time it's done it.

 

This time, I'd just rebooted and fired up Skype, nothing else, then left it for a few minutes and came back to find it as you see it in the video below.

 

Is this a hardware fault that needs warranty attention?

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2z5zw5HzU0

 

An hour later...just done it a third time.

 

Posts: 20,989
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,270
Solutions: 1,349
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0 Kudos

Re: X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

yeap that should be a hardware problem. Does it occur on external screen?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Location: UK
0 Kudos

Re: X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

Thanks lead_org. That's a good question. I'll connect it up and see what happens.

 

It's occurred twice more in the last couple of hours. I'm wondering if it might be a memory problem but don't want to start messing about with it when it's so new. Will probably insists on returning it for a replacement. Luckily it's only a backup machine although I'm not pleased because I was planning on taking it on a 2-week trip tomorrow, will now have to take my 17" machine.

Guru
Posts: 9,240
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
0 Kudos

Re: X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

Looks very familiar.

I had it happen to my X100e if I set the GPU clock to some absurdly low speed. The system would freeze and I'd have to force power it off.

Could be RAM, could be the GPU.
W520: 2720QM, Q2000M at 1082/1376, 32GB RAM, 500GB + 750GB HDD, FHD screen & MB168B+
X61T: L7500, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
W550s: 5600U, K620M at 1164/1281, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 3K touchscreen
X200s: SL9400, 6GB RAM, 160GB HDD, WXGA+ screen
TPT1: 1839-23U
Highlighted
Blue Screen Again
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-01-2011
Location: Kent, UK
0 Kudos

Re: X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

Just throw the darn thing in the bin. I bought mine just before xmas.....screen failed twice....now got a crack on the side....Shoddy...just shoddy.....

Paper Tape
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-29-2011
Location: UK

Re: X121E dodgy display - hardware fault?

Turned out to be a memory fault, on mine.