Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PaulX121e
What's DOS?
Views: 1,442
Message 1 of 5

X121e - Product Recovery using USB Recovery Media

Hello, this is my first time using a community forum, so apologies for not knowing the protocols.

I have a Lenovo X121e ThinkPad, which is unfortunately 5 days out of warranty. It is pre-installed with Windows 7, but there is a problem starting Windows, so the only option available is the Startup Repair, which searches for (and attempts to repair) problems. Unfortunately, the repair is unsuccessful but the root cause is found:

Boot sector for system disk partition is corrupt.

This only leaves the option to perform a product recovery. When I choose this option, the files are not found, probably because I no longer have the "Q Drive" partition - some months ago I followed the instructions to create a (USB) recovery media and release the space on the hard disk. I therefore have a USB stick called 'cbd_drive' which contains the following in the root directory:

Boot [folder]

factoryrecovery [folder]

usb.tag

winRE.wim

I assumed that I could boot from this USB drive to run the Lenovo Product Recovery so I changed the boot sequence to use USB HDD but I receive an "Error loading operating system" message.

Now I'm at a loss as to what I should do next, so appreciate any advice from the community. Thank you!

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 1,418
Message 2 of 5

Re: X121e - Product Recovery using USB Recovery Media

Hello and welcome,

Did you use this procedure to prepare your flash drive?

New or used USB memory keys or USB flash drives require an active partition created from within Wind...

If not you may be able to fix things by setting the  partition active.  Don't clean, create, or format, just select and set active.