English Community

ThinkPad NotebooksThinkPad: X Series Laptops
All Forum Topics
Options

16 Posts

01-01-2008

Hong Kong

36 Signins

260 Page Views

  • Posts: 16
  • Registered: ‎01-01-2008
  • Location: Hong Kong
  • Views: 260
  • Message 1 of 3

X200 Warranty Issue

2008-08-23, 18:29 PM

Hello lads!

I am preparing to buy a X200s from some Notebook Ownership Programme for Universities Students in Hong Kong. Anyway, this is not important, but the RAM is not quite enough, 1GB only. So, I must purchase another RAM. So I want to know if I purchase a RAM outside Lenovo and install it into the new unit, will the Warranty be voided?

 

1 more thing, the model type see here doesn't have the Intel Turbo Memory Module installed and I would like to know whether I can buy it from Lenovo or elsewhere and install it in X200.

 

Thanks!

Aptiva 2187-16V
ThinkCentre A50 8090-I1H
ThinkPad T61 7663-B37 | X200 7458-PB8
Reply
Options

3258 Posts

02-17-2008

Australia

1962 Signins

50408 Page Views

  • Posts: 3258
  • Registered: ‎02-17-2008
  • Location: Australia
  • Views: 50408
  • Message 2 of 3

Re: X200 Warranty Issue

2008-08-23, 18:39 PM
installing your own ram do not void your warranty.
Reply
Options

119 Posts

01-02-2008

Pune, India

394 Signins

2933 Page Views

  • Posts: 119
  • Registered: ‎01-02-2008
  • Location: Pune, India
  • Views: 2933
  • Message 3 of 3

Re: X200 Warranty Issue

2008-08-23, 19:09 PM

Dominic,

 

It depends which version of Turbo Memory your machine will take. Version 1 (the one with 1GB RAM), make no noticeable difference to performance and have been headache for many.

 

The next avatar which is already available on several models from Lenovo as 2 GB module. However, I would at least wait till 4GB is inexpensively available in market. Apparently Intels new drivers have an interesting concept for 4GB varient of turbo memory. You could drag and drop your frequently used application or those that take a long time to boot, and turbo-mem will keep them there ready to be launched quickly.

 

Further if you are anyway going to increase the RAM, take it up to 3GB for Vista 32 or 4GB for Vista 64. And this much RAM turbo mem would not make any measureable difference.

 

 

Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
Reply
Forum Home

Community Guidelines

Please review our Guidelines before posting.

Learn More

Check out current deals!

Go Shop
X

Save

X

Delete