Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
x200snewbie
Paper Tape
Views: 1,224
Message 1 of 8

X200s tried to add webcam - now neither webcam, nor thinklight will work

Hi all,

So, as the username hopefully indicates - a newbie to the x200s, which I bought recently, though I've been using thinkpad products for a few years now (a devoted fan!)

My x200s did not come with a webcam and, since I am thousands of miles from home, I reckoned I would try and install one manually. Note that I have swaped its HDD for an SD & changed keyboard in the past with no problem, so I was assuming (foolishly, perhaps!) that vaguely knew what I was doing.

I followed the instructions and user experiences on this thread, I purchased this camera - and got off to work.

Even though everything seemed fine when adding the camera to the system, a strange thing happened after I rebooted (I run Linux Mint 16): neither the webcam, nor the thinklight were now working. After lots of testing, I assumed I must have just destroyed part of the cable during installation, and so I purchased this cable (Lenovo ThinkPad X200 LCD Video Cable 44C9909) and tried again. Same result! The only difference is that the first time round, an "lsusb" command on linux would return a Ricoh product (and I assume that's the webcam), but it would still not be recognised by Mint, while now, there's nothing. In both cases, the Thinklight didn't work.

Since both the thinklight and the webcam come out at the same end (see the right end of the cable on this picture) I am assuming, of course, that the two are related.

Would anyone know which of the clips on the left end of the cable on the same picture, above, correspond to the webcam and the thinklight?

Thanks for reading, and any response and thoughts on the above would be most appreciated - a little bit at loss at to what to do now.

Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Views: 1,198
Message 2 of 8

Re: X200s tried to add webcam - now neither webcam, nor thinklight will work