cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Reply
priority
802.11n
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Location: TR
Views: 33,012
Message 1 of 21

X201 RAM Upgrade

hi,

 

i just purchased new RAMs for my X201

 

previously it had 2GB DDR3 1066Mhz PC3-8500 SO-DIMM Memory ( Samsung )

 

i purchased Kingston 2x 4GB DDR3 1333Mhz  PC3-10600 SO-DIMM Memory . i installed new RAMs but windows ( also ubuntu with dual-boot ) didnt start.

 

i tried each rams also each slots. when i install both of the 2 rams together, OS doesnt boot, just freezes while booting ( for windows 7 it freezes when it says " windows is starting " , in ubuntu it cant boot, instead it restarts again and again )

 

when i try just one 4gb ram for 1 slot , it is giving Blue Screen Of Death error at boot screen ( in windows 7 when we see colored booting window flag it freezes for a second then blue screen )

 

 

after all of these , i uninstalled my old laptops 1066 mhz 2GB ram ( same with the previous ram of x201 ) and installed it into x201. it worked.  so slots dont have any problem.. it seems rams having issue.

 

My X201 Type number is : 3626-FBG

 

Kingston RAMs  details :

 

on cover it written:

 

KVR13S9S8/4

4GB PC3-10600 CL9 204-Pin SODIMM

207767C2C20000006549306004

 

Any idea why is it happening?

 

 

ThinkPad X201 3680-AD6 / Intel Core i5 M560 2.67Ghz / DDR3 8GB / Intel SSD 730 Series 240GB / 12.1 WXGA 1280x800p / Dual boot Win10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64bit / X200 Ultrabase / ThinkVision LT2252p
Community SeniorMod
Community SeniorMod
Posts: 12,004
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Location: RU
Views: 33,000
Message 2 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

Hi,

one reason of issue might be the frequencies of new RAM sticks and CPU i5-520M in your laptop. That processor supports DDR3-800/1066 memory types only. Who knows how SPD feature on the stick regulates the work on lower frequency.

Another reasons might be the RAM sticks CAS latency and timings. There is a chance the new memory is too fast for x201. Look at the such parameters of Samsung stick (in CPU-Z, for example).



x220 • Gobi 2000 3g | hdd, msata ssd, wwan, wifi, gps -- unique hand-made config
ThinkPad 25 Special Anniversary Edition. #retro. Signed by D.Hill
T470p | X1 Carbon Gen3 | Miix 2 10" | Yoga Tablet 2-1050F (Android) + BT Keyboard
ThinkPad Stack • 2.4/5 Wireless Router, HDD 1 TB, BT Speaker, Power Bank, Mobile Projector

Do it well, worse becomes itself

Communities:   English    Deutsche    Español    Portugues    Русскоязычное    Česká    Slovenská    Українська   Moto English

Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 32,988
Message 3 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade


@priority wrote:

hi,

 

 

KVR13S9S8/4

4GB PC3-10600 CL9 204-Pin SODIMM

207767C2C20000006549306004

 

Any idea why is it happening?

 

 


For a decade now I've been advising against the use of Kingston's Value RAM on ThinkPads - as well as against any similar "value RAM" offerings from other manufacturers.

 

The reports of intermittant compatibility issues have started while the brand was still owned by IBM.

 

Return the DIMMs, and get the ones from Crucial, Samsung, Hynix, Mushkin...preferably of 8500 speed.

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
priority
802.11n
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Location: TR
Views: 32,965
Message 4 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

So should i give it back to where i bought Kingston rams? and buy PC3-8500 instead of PC3-10600 and not buy Kingston RAM ? i thought Kingston is one of the bests..

 

i couldnt find any CPU-Z values on RAMs. in lenovo support page it says 1066mhz and 1333mhz are compatible with my x201 type model but it says 1066mhz is recommended.

 

really annoying..

ThinkPad X201 3680-AD6 / Intel Core i5 M560 2.67Ghz / DDR3 8GB / Intel SSD 730 Series 240GB / 12.1 WXGA 1280x800p / Dual boot Win10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64bit / X200 Ultrabase / ThinkVision LT2252p
lead_org Microsoft MVP Contributor
Microsoft MVP Contributor
Posts: 21,009
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Views: 32,954
Message 5 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

Kingston is a good brand, but their Value RAM range does cause compatibility issue in ThinkPads.

You can speak to Kingston Customer Service and ask for replacement modules.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
priority
802.11n
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Location: TR
Views: 32,943
Message 6 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

is this 1066 - 1333 mhz issue or just ThinkPads dont like Kingston RAMs ?

 

 

 

 

ThinkPad X201 3680-AD6 / Intel Core i5 M560 2.67Ghz / DDR3 8GB / Intel SSD 730 Series 240GB / 12.1 WXGA 1280x800p / Dual boot Win10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64bit / X200 Ultrabase / ThinkVision LT2252p
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 32,931
Message 7 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

I'd venture a guess that the issue is with the "value RAM" offering which was historically not well-liked by ThinkPads.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
priority
802.11n
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Location: TR
Views: 32,921
Message 8 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

can you please define what does " value ram " mean ?  should i use specially produced ram for ThinkPad laptops which is expensive? not a random ram from any store?

ThinkPad X201 3680-AD6 / Intel Core i5 M560 2.67Ghz / DDR3 8GB / Intel SSD 730 Series 240GB / 12.1 WXGA 1280x800p / Dual boot Win10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64bit / X200 Ultrabase / ThinkVision LT2252p
Guru
Posts: 7,626
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
Views: 32,902
Message 9 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade


@priority wrote:

can you please define what does " value ram " mean ?  should i use specially produced ram for ThinkPad laptops which is expensive? not a random ram from any store?


Sure.

 

When it comes to Kingston, KVR = Kingston Value RAM. Corsair has a similar offering. "No name" RAM from random ebay sellers is likely even worse.

 

Elpida, Hynix, Micron, Samsung, Mushkin, Crucial...take your pick.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
priority
802.11n
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Location: TR
Views: 32,889
Message 10 of 21

Re: X201 RAM Upgrade

if i buy 1333mhz  from any of Elpida, Hynix, Micron, Samsung, Mushkin, Crucial is that ok ? or should i search for 1066mhz ?

 

what about Hi-Level RAM ?

 

 

thx

ThinkPad X201 3680-AD6 / Intel Core i5 M560 2.67Ghz / DDR3 8GB / Intel SSD 730 Series 240GB / 12.1 WXGA 1280x800p / Dual boot Win10 Pro x64 + Ubuntu 16.04 LTS 64bit / X200 Ultrabase / ThinkVision LT2252p

Check out current deals!


Shop current deals

Top Kudoed Authors